Write, every day of your life 71/365

Erasure…You have the choice to erase one incident from your past, as though it never happened. What would you erase and why?

I’ve written about this experience before…actually a fair while ago, so here’s what I wrote then…and it’s pretty self explanatory why I want to erase it!!!

A few years ago when I was living overseas and ended up at the International Hospital, as opposed to the General Hospital in a lot of pain and was told that I required surgery…okay I was in a hospital and the times I’d been there to see a doctor before everything had been fine and everything had gone okay and x-rays had been done fairly professionally…well the woman did dry them using a hairdryer and it was taken in a shipping container in the car park…but still…they always had the medication that I required and I had always felt fine going there.

That night was different, I was in serious pain…it was about 8pm on a Saturday night and I’d somehow managed to drive myself to the hospital with my then partner and the doctor on call had rung the surgeon so I just had to wait for the surgeon to arrive so that I could go into surgery…nothing too wrong with that.  Problem was no matter how many times the nurse and the doctor on call tried they couldn’t get a needle into me so I couldn’t get any painkillers and I was getting bruised and battered from the attempts and almost screaming the place down.  It even got to the extent that the nurses and doctors turned off the airconditioning that was above my bed to see if warming me up helped them to get the needle in.

No good…five attempts later I was still in pain and they decided it was best to wait for the surgeon to arrive.

Finally the surgeon arrive and I got to walk into the operating theatre (as you do…I’m not exactly talking about a first world country here).  The surgeon managed to get a drip in straight away, along with pain killers…that made me feel better, except for one small thing…he didn’t wait for the pain killers to kick in before he started the surgery or the anaesthetic…so I managed to scream quite loudly during the surgery (thankfully the surgery was over quite quickly)…plus if I had of been in Australia I would have had anaesthetic and wouldn’t have been released from hospital for at least six hours and wouldn’t have been able to drive until at least the next day…yeah not likely.  I was up paying the bill an hour later and heading home less than 90 minutes later, driving the 7km down the freeway at almost midnight…like I said not a first world country.

Thankfully by the time I got home the painkillers had well and truly kicked in and I was fast asleep rather quickly and then it was just recovery time.  But it was over, that was all I was worried about.

Leave a Reply

According To Abby

Abby Gilmore

Untidy Heidi

Naturally untidy, just trying to keep it all together!

allysonkathleen

Feeling and looking your absolute best!

CoCoHunni

My journey to become a happier, healthier me

Adventures In Onederland

"I can't go back to yesterday because I was a different person then"

Biblio Gets Fit

I love books and PF

Points to Skinny

Helping you meal plan to reach your weight goal

Miss Chardy

Laughter in the Outback

WHATTHETEACHERWEARS

'Who says you can't be fabulous between 9 & 5'

Tales of an Almost Teacher

Student Teacher Today: Superhero Tomorrow

This Mid 30s Life

It's often silly, sometimes fun and occasionally a bit boring if I'm honest.

Sweets.Eats.Treats

yummy desserts. easy meals. lazy crafternoons.

Through the THICK of it

Working towards health and happiness :)

The Life of an Amateur Country Girl

City girl adjusting to the country life.

An Education in Domestication

Two Educators Learning about Life

Journey to After

Never again will I be a "before"!

