Write, every day of your life 8/365

Tell us about a teacher who had a real impact on your life, either for the better or the worse. How is your life different today because of him or her?

I’m choosing to turn this topic around and make it about students that have had a real impact on my life…and having been teaching for 16 years now in a number of schools, majority of them very small schools there have been a number of students that have impacted on my life.

Now of course teachers never have favourite students, but students definitely have favourite teachers and sometimes they make it very well known.  There were a few in Country Town…four siblings from one family and their cousin.

R was at the school for one year only before going to high school but would visit every time she was back in town and we had a huge hug when I left, especially because of things that happened a few months before I left that made all of us realise just how precious life is.

D & B were cousins, three weeks apart in age, but a year apart at school and as alike as they were different and the three of us did well not to cry at the final goodbye.  But D wouldn’t leave my side the last day and B had been sick and his grandmother brought him in the day after school finished to say goodbye and I made him say goodbye to a former teacher of his who didn’t get along with him and made him be the bigger person, which at the time he didn’t want to, but once he did it he was glad that he did.

E & A are the youngest two, a year apart in age, but the youngest is a lot bigger than the oldest and they boarded the family bandwagon that the others set.

The biggest impact that B had was that for 2 years straight he found me every morning when he got to school, regardless of the time he arrived, and he was often late, but he just wanted to say good morning to me and check that I was there and that I was okay.

For those 5 children I was their school mum and their families knew it.  When D, E and A’s mother arrived one day and I walked around the corner with her the first child ran to her, the second to me and the third between us.

That’s all you need when you’re in a town with no family…a surrogate family.

Leave a Reply

According To Abby

Abby Gilmore

Untidy Heidi

Naturally untidy, just trying to keep it all together!

allysonkathleen

Feeling and looking your absolute best!

CoCoHunni

My journey to become a happier, healthier me

Adventures In Onederland

"I can't go back to yesterday because I was a different person then"

Biblio Gets Fit

I love books and PF

Points to Skinny

Helping you meal plan to reach your weight goal

Miss Chardy

Laughter in the Outback

WHATTHETEACHERWEARS

'Who says you can't be fabulous between 9 & 5'

Tales of an Almost Teacher

Student Teacher Today: Superhero Tomorrow

This Mid 30s Life

It's often silly, sometimes fun and occasionally a bit boring if I'm honest.

Sweets.Eats.Treats

yummy desserts. easy meals. lazy crafternoons.

Through the THICK of it

Working towards health and happiness :)

The Life of an Amateur Country Girl

City girl adjusting to the country life.

An Education in Domestication

Two Educators Learning about Life

Journey to After

Never again will I be a "before"!

