Daily Prompt…Daring Do

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Daring Do.”

Well I’ve got a rather interesting one for this…when I moved to a remote community in the Northern Territory to work in my first school at the delightful age of 23…gee that feels like forever ago…anyway, I had been there for a week, had a week with my class which was interesting, as they were grads 3-8 and about 25 kids when they all showed up.

Anyway, back to the story.  I was sharing the house with another teacher, it was a long weekend and she’d mentioned that if I ever heard yelling and screaming that it was most probably the neighbours.  I learnt over the next 18 months that they did yell quite a lot, but I kind of got used to it, at least it meant that they were around.

So the Monday night / Tuesday morning I heard yelling and screaming and thought I was dreaming…which was weird as I don’t normally remember my dreams.  Then I heard my name, which kind of woke me up and put me back in the real world…well the screaming was coming from inside the house, not outside.

So I got up and noticed the other teacher’s bedroom door was wide open, which seemed strange, I went down there and there was a strange man there.

Someone had broken in and was attacking her.

All I did was say “Get out!” and the idiotic excuse for a person did…they literally walked to the lounge room and crawled out the locked screen door, as they had popped it off the track.

Then I locked the door and rang the nurse that lived next door and then the police.

He was caught within 5 minutes of the police arriving as he actually wanted to go to jail so that he had a roof over his head, a bed and food for the winter…as I said he was an idiotic excuse for a person.

Quote

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Taswegian1957
    Jan 07, 2015 @ 00:16:52

    Quite a disturbing experience for both of you however.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Write, every day of your life 17/365 | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Leave a Reply

Oxford Australia blog

For the love of learning

According To Abby

Abby Gilmore

Untidy Heidi

Naturally untidy, just trying to keep it all together!

allysonkathleen

Feeling and looking your absolute best!

CoCoHunni

My journey to become a happier, healthier me

Adventures In Onederland

"I can't go back to yesterday because I was a different person then"

Biblio Gets Fit

I love books and PF

Points to Skinny

Helping you meal plan to reach your weight goal

Miss Chardy

Laughter in the Outback

WHATTHETEACHERWEARS

'Who says you can't be fabulous between 9 & 5'

Tales of an Almost Teacher

Student Teacher Today: Superhero Tomorrow

This Mid 30s Life

It's often silly, sometimes fun and occasionally a bit boring if I'm honest.

Sweets.Eats.Treats

yummy desserts. easy meals. lazy crafternoons.

Through the THICK of it

Working towards health and happiness :)

The Life of an Amateur Country Girl

City girl adjusting to the country life.

An Education in Domestication

Two Educators Learning about Life

