If you leave…

I haven’t done a daily prompt post for a while…it’s been an interesting time lately with moving from Country Town to Country Town 2.0 and dealing with that and living 35km (21.75 miles) out of town and add to that getting bogged one morning then getting a flat tyre and dealing with dirt roads and the little bits of rain that are attempting to break the drought…let alone all the animals (and I’m talking about kangaroos, emus, cattle, bugs, lizards, sheep, goats, rabbits and as of this week a baby camel…to name a few) and knowing that nearly all the time I’m the only person living out where I am and my next door neighbours are a mere 15km (9.3 miles) away on one side and about 35km (21.75 miles) on the other sides.

So anyway the prompt fits what I’ve been thinking lately…it is…Life is a series of beginnings and endings. We leave one job to start another; we quit cities, countries, or continents for a fresh start; we leave lovers and begin new relationships. What was the last thing you contemplated leaving? What were the pros and cons? Have you made up your mind? What will you choose?

Well I chose to leave Country Town mostly for professional reasons, it was time for a change, I needed a change and in a lot of ways I’m glad that I did it…this week however, it’s been pretty difficult with my mobile deciding to really play up (not great when it’s less than 3 months old) and then running out of water and ending up having to put a garden hose into the tank to fill it…not great for helping a person’s mental health and anxiety levels.

I’ve left various versions of Country Town and other places over the years and they’ve mostly been when I’ve changed jobs and I’ve had good reasons for the changes and generally it has been a good thing…and I do say generally.

So the pro of leaving Country Town was the more settled position, in terms of I have my own cherubs in my own class again for a change after a few years of teaching, but not having a class of my own.  Plus it meant leaving some people that weren’t necessarily the easiest to work with.

The con was leaving some of the people closest to me…leaving my closest friends there who are practically like family and leaving a few of my cherubs.

But at the end of the day I’m glad I made the decision…even with all of the sagas lately.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Black-and-white mood | The Bliss of Reality
  2. Electric pole | Vintage Photography
  3. 1973 – Volkswagen Beetle | The Bliss of Reality
  4. 1970 – Volkswagen Beetle | The Bliss of Reality
  5. Night is young | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  6. Crossing | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  7. 1969 – Volvo 142 | The Bliss of Reality
  8. Tetris | Crazy Art
  9. Daily Prompt: If You Leave -Living Simple Life and the Obstacle | Journeyman
  10. Droplet from water tap explaining to its brothers and sisters structure of the world ocean | Crazy Art
  11. Leaving for the Normal | Mara Eastern’s Personal Blog
  12. Daily Prompt & The Button (short story) | The Jittery Goat
  13. Dp Daily Prompt: If You Leave | Sabethville
  14. of last straws | Anawnimiss
  15. dulu dan nanti | The Frozen Tears
  16. Leaving | Attempted Human Relations and Self
  17. I’ve Had Enough of This Utah Place
  18. Daily Prompt: Break Ups | Cabernet In The Dark
  19. I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  20. Beyond the horizon | MC’s Whispers
  21. Who Really DECIDES? | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  22. Harry Potter, Famous Dads and Stoke Newington | AS I PLEASE
  23. Dear John: a fictional letter | ALIEN AURA’S BlOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  24. Daily Prompt: Leave an old and start a new! Can I ? | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
  25. Selbstständigkeit versus Festanstellung | Zeitarbeiterin
  26. when love appeared in a yellow brick road | kaleidoscope sparks of defiance
  27. DP: Leaving – Autumn by Ruswa Fatehpuri | aliabbasali
  28. We Gathered Yesterday | Exploratorius
  29. Daily Prompt: If You Leave « Mama Bear Musings
  30. Crossroads | Inks and Scribbles
  31. A Letter To Say Goodbye | The Magic Black Book
  32. Too literal? Maybe, but I like the image…! | thoughtsofrkh
  33. Heartbreak | Flowers and Breezes
  34. COLORS AT THE CROSSROAD | SERENDIPITY
  35. Leaving Pittsburgh
  36. Daily Prompt: Why leaving a mouse is never easy | Blogizing
  37. I Give Up | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  38. Daily Prompt: March 12 | Balmy Life
  39. Remember where you came from… | Rima Hassan
  40. Contemplation | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  41. Going on a break | Eclecticfemale’s Blog
  42. Daily Prompt: If You Leave | Awl and Scribe
  43. Leaving on a Jet Plane . . . | meanderedwanderings
  44. Daily Prompt: Crossroads | A Day In The Life
  45. Daily Prompt: If You Leave | Finding Life
  46. The Final Goodbye | Parents Are People Too
  47. 412 | mesardonicmesarcastic
  48. To leave or not to leave? | Sue’s Trifles
  49. If You Leave | Existentialists R Us
  50. poetry: daily prompt: never really leave | Shaddie on spec. fiction
  51. Daily Prompt: If You Leave | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  52. the times they are a ~changin | eastelmhurst.a.go.go
  53. if you leave | klstar2000
  54. iQuit |
  55. Let it go: Leaving so that I may stand in my own shadow « psychologistmimi
  56. If I leave | Jennifer Paige
  57. Leave it All Behind | Knowledge Addiction
  58. Crossroads | The Land Slide Photography
  59. If I Leave Detroit | A Blog of One’s Own
  60. I’ve abandoned it all | See it. Shoot it. Scrap it.
  61. Daily Prompt: If You Leave | Basically Beyond Basic
  62. Just Like Everyday | Views Splash!
  63. Goodbye Ohio | Being HIS Light in a Dark World
  64. Daily Prompt: If You Leave | Life is great
  65. Things that make it worth staying | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  66. Daily Prompt: If You Leave | kenbigtrain
  67. DP: End of an Era? | Scorched Ice
  68. The Workplace Tribe….(wp daily prompt) | Daily Observations
  69. Mild Reflections on Higher Education. | A Wiser Fella Than Myself Once Said…
  70. A Change | Real Momma Ramblings
  71. Life’s Transitions; A Mother’s Perspective | In For the Ride
  72. Daily Prompt: If you leave | Raevenly Writes
  73. Daily Prompt: Can I leave it behind? No! | Random & Real
  74. So We Stayed | Random Words
  75. “Crossroads” | Relax
  76. Final Farewell | Emotional Fitness
  77. crossroads | lemon lime follies
  78. The Road Less Traveled | The Shotgun Girls
  79. Leaving…Was It A Good Idea? | Cats, Coffee, And Life At Random
  80. If You Leave | Multi-Porpoise
  81. Among the Whispers
15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ranu802
    Mar 13, 2014 @ 06:41:10

    And your photographs are very attractive.I agree we leave because of a change of job, or for taking admission in a new school or to join one’s husband like I did.These are moves that cannot be helped. I understand why it was necessary for you to move.

    Reply

    • shirlld
      Mar 16, 2014 @ 20:39:54

      I think there’s moving and there’s moving…this time I moved 3615km (2246 miles) from Country Town to Country Town 2.0 and in a lot of ways all of my moves have been ones that have been a large distance apart. Which is both good and bad.

      Reply

  2. violetcorniun
    Mar 13, 2014 @ 06:56:03

    It’s so amusing to hear about all the animals you run into. (Or do you own them?) A camel and a kangaroo? I’d feel like it was always a day at the zoo!

    I’m excited to read more of your blog. Oftentimes I hear about country girls who are sick of the small town life and want to broaden their horizons by moving to the city; rarely do I hear it the other way around where city girls move to the country. Having lived mostly in suburbs but getting to experience both city and country, I prefer the country any day!

    Cheers,
    ~Violet~

    Reply

    • shirlld
      Mar 16, 2014 @ 20:44:21

      Oh god no I don’t own the animals…they’re mostly wild animals. I live on a cattle station, except because of the current drought most of the animals have been moved to another property. The emus, kangaroos and lizards are all wild and there are no shortage of kangaroos, it is a daily battle trying to avoid them while driving to and from work. There can literally be hundreds of them on the 35km drive depending on the time of day and the weather.

      As for the camel, well the station owner has been living at another place and she found the baby camel and is now raising it and bottle feeding it and is back here at the moment so she bought it with her.

      I’ve had 15 years of living mostly in the country, in various places, from cattle stations to remote communities with 300 people or less to towns with up to 1,500 people and have enjoyed it nearly all the time. I enjoy the city, but these days I enjoy it for holidays and a bit of shopping, not for long periods of time.

      I’ve known quite a number of people that have gone from the city to country, you either love it or hate it…there isn’t really much middle ground.

      Reply

  3. librarylady
    Mar 13, 2014 @ 07:13:39

    When I read how far away your neighbors are it makes me think you are very brave. I admire you and envy your country town lifestyle. The pictures are gorgeous.

    Reply

    • shirlld
      Mar 16, 2014 @ 20:46:02

      This is the only time I’ve really lived on my own in such an isolated place, other times I’ve been in remote places but there’s been houses right there and other people literally within view. Mostly it’s good and it gives me time away from work and time to also do work stuff and study with only myself to distract me and it’s also close enough to town that I can stay in after work to have dinner at the one restaurant and come home with only the kangaroos to battle with.

      Reply

  4. Trackback: Debt and Mattresses (Daily Prompt) | Thinking Diagonally
  5. bhumikasept
    Mar 13, 2014 @ 18:01:43

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Daily Prompt: If You Leave | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  7. Trackback: I think I left love | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"
  8. Trackback: Daily Prompt: If You Leave | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  9. Trackback: When You Left | Cancer Isn't Pink
  10. MSmith
    Mar 26, 2014 @ 03:04:00

    I’m a small town girl from the South and I can totally relate to you wanting to expand your horizons. It’s nice to stay in one place for a long period of time but exciting also to see and experience things in life from a new perspective. Never forget your country life, but embrace the changes you make! Thanks for sharing with us, Shrilld.

    Reply

  11. Trackback: Poem / Poetry – “Goodbye, My Dear!” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)
  12. Trackback: If You Leave [VIGNETTE] | Ramisa the Authoress

Leave a Reply

Oxford Australia blog

For the love of learning

According To Abby

Abby Gilmore

Untidy Heidi

Naturally untidy, just trying to keep it all together!

allysonkathleen

Feeling and looking your absolute best!

CoCoHunni

My journey to become a happier, healthier me

Adventures In Onederland

"I can't go back to yesterday because I was a different person then"

Biblio Gets Fit

I love books and PF

Points to Skinny

Helping you meal plan to reach your weight goal

Miss Chardy

Laughter in the Outback

WHATTHETEACHERWEARS

'Who says you can't be fabulous between 9 & 5'

Tales of an Almost Teacher

Student Teacher Today: Superhero Tomorrow

This Mid 30s Life

It's often silly, sometimes fun and occasionally a bit boring if I'm honest.

Sweets.Eats.Treats

yummy desserts. easy meals. lazy crafternoons.

Through the THICK of it

Working towards health and happiness :)

The Life of an Amateur Country Girl

City girl adjusting to the country life.

An Education in Domestication

Two Educators Learning about Life

