Gazi restaurant

As part of mum’s birthday celebration last week we decided to go out to dinner before we went to see Grease the musical.  So I chose Gazi restaurant, owned by George Calombaris.

Now I’ll start by saying there was a total of one photo taken there…and it was in important one and not of any of the food…sorry for that…and I’ll let you know which picture is mine.

We didn’t book, but fluked it by getting a table on a Friday night as we got there pretty early about 5:20, which was fine as we were going to the theatre anyway.  The first thing you notice when you walk in is the pots on the ceiling…they definitely look interesting.

The whole idea of the restaurant is to share meals with the others that you are dining with and we definitely did that.

We started with the hommus dip and bread…and mum kept telling us how great she thought the hommus was…I have to say I quite enjoyed it.

Then we had lahanodolma which according the to menu is pork and beef mince, cabbage leaves, rice, dill, avgolemono and while mum wasn’t as keen on this as she was the hommus, my sister and I enjoyed it.

Next we had a souvlakakia each…which is a small souvlaki.  Mum had the crab souvlakakia which had soft shell crab, mint, coriander, honey and mayonnaise and she thoroughly enjoyed it.  My sister had the chicken souvlakakia which had chicken, chips, parsley, onion and mustard mayo (except she didn’t have the onion in it)…and yes you read right, there were chips in the souvlakakia.  While I had the beef brisket souvlakakia which had beef brisket, chips, parsley, onion and mustard mayo and it was delicious.  We also had a bowl of chips which came with oregano, garlic oil and feta

souvlakakia…image from www.goodfood.com.au

Then was dessert and we got three to share between us…and OMG is an understatement!!!!

We had the pavlova which had rhubarb, raspberry, passionfruit sorbet and curd and I think my sister had a heart attack when she saw it…as you can see from the picture below.

But the pavlova dome had all the other delicious components hidden under it…and it was seriously delicious.

We also had the risogalo jar which contained grilled pineapple, popcorn & coconut sorbet, muscavado mousse, puffed rice and almonds…and more importantly let out a dose of smoke when you opened the jar.  This was my sister’s favourite dessert.

The other dessert we had was loukomathes which came served with honey Nutella and crushed hazelnuts…definitely worth trying.

Overall the meal was great, the service was good, the atmosphere in the place was great, even though the tables are quite close to each other it’s not that noisy that you have to yell at the other people sitting at your table.

However the best part of the night was early on when we saw George Calombaris there and my sister asked if he could come over to the table…I was having a food moment…I have a serious thing for George, he’s my favourite Masterchef judge by a long, long way.  So I was just a tad excited about meeting him and getting a photo with him…oh and I bought a cookbook that was meant to be a signed one, unfortunately it wasn’t, thankfully we realised this as we were leaving so we managed to get it changed within a couple of minutes…so there’s an other cookbook to add to my signed cookbook collection, which is constantly growing at the moment.

So here’s a rare photo of me on this blog…there’s only been a few so far…but there will be a couple more in the next couple of days when I detail the other adventures we’ve had this week…

1525061_10152154422187249_1194335772_n

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. trina59
    Jan 10, 2014 @ 23:14:23

    The food looks too good to be true! Nice photo!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Road tripping…the final part of the journey to Country Town 2.0 | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl
  3. Trackback: Masterchef…Heston elimination challenge | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Leave a Reply

According To Abby

Abby Gilmore

Untidy Heidi

Naturally untidy, just trying to keep it all together!

allysonkathleen

Feeling and looking your absolute best!

CoCoHunni

My journey to become a happier, healthier me

Adventures In Onederland

"I can't go back to yesterday because I was a different person then"

Biblio Gets Fit

I love books and PF

Points to Skinny

Helping you meal plan to reach your weight goal

Miss Chardy

Laughter in the Outback

WHATTHETEACHERWEARS

'Who says you can't be fabulous between 9 & 5'

Tales of an Almost Teacher

Student Teacher Today: Superhero Tomorrow

This Mid 30s Life

It's often silly, sometimes fun and occasionally a bit boring if I'm honest.

Sweets.Eats.Treats

yummy desserts. easy meals. lazy crafternoons.

Through the THICK of it

Working towards health and happiness :)

The Life of an Amateur Country Girl

City girl adjusting to the country life.

An Education in Domestication

Two Educators Learning about Life

Journey to After

Never again will I be a "before"!

