The extent of road tripping…

road tripping

It may not look like much on this little version of Australia…thanks Google Maps, this is small, zoom in one bit and you can’t get the whole thing on the screen…frustrating, even when your little slide thing shows it bigger, then you let go and it is too big…needs a bit of work if you’ve got some spare time Google Map boffins.

Anyway, that blue line was the extent of my life from Saturday until yesterday (Wednesday) afternoon…and as the photos I blogged along the way showed there’s not a huge amount out there, on occasions nothing for a couple of hundred of kilometres, then a road house and nothing more for a couple of hundred kilometres…ever so exciting.

Actually it might be more exciting if it is the first time you’ve made the trip…um…yeah maybe not.

Good thing I wasn’t expecting many kangaroos, even though there were literally hundreds of signs warning me of kangaroos.  I saw two!!  Yes two!!!  I was a whole 80km from Country Town when I saw them as well…not exactly in the middle of nowhere, oh well actually I was 20km from the next town so I was kind of in the middle of nowhere.

So that’s the extent of my road tripping…Google Maps thinks it was 4,128km (2,565 miles)…slightly under what it actually was…add about another 100km to that and that’s what it actually was.

But thank god for my ipod, even though the connector started having a moment on day two, then settled, then had another moment on day four, so it has now been replaced with a new one…and I now get to have a bit of a holiday before driving to and moving to Country Town 2.0.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Muddy River Muse
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:40:01

    Having road-tripped across the Canadian prairie I have some appreciation for the nature of your journey. I have dreamed of visiting Australia ever since I did a big social studies project about the country in grade 4! Maybe someday…

    Reply

  2. Author Catherine Townsend-Lyon
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:55:28

    I SO enjoy your travels and your blog!! Thanks for sharing *Experience*!!
    Author, Catherine Lyon 🙂 🙂

    Reply

  3. helen meikle's scribblefest
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 13:37:22

    Now that is truly impressive! I know just how much nothing there is out there – thousands would balk at driving it on their own. Is Country Town 2 any closer?

    Reply

  4. Trackback: All it’s cracked up to be… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Leave a Reply

Oxford Australia blog

For the love of learning

According To Abby

Abby Gilmore

Untidy Heidi

Naturally untidy, just trying to keep it all together!

allysonkathleen

Feeling and looking your absolute best!

CoCoHunni

My journey to become a happier, healthier me

Adventures In Onederland

"I can't go back to yesterday because I was a different person then"

Biblio Gets Fit

I love books and PF

Points to Skinny

Helping you meal plan to reach your weight goal

Miss Chardy

Laughter in the Outback

WHATTHETEACHERWEARS

'Who says you can't be fabulous between 9 & 5'

Tales of an Almost Teacher

Student Teacher Today: Superhero Tomorrow

This Mid 30s Life

It's often silly, sometimes fun and occasionally a bit boring if I'm honest.

Sweets.Eats.Treats

yummy desserts. easy meals. lazy crafternoons.

Through the THICK of it

Working towards health and happiness :)

The Life of an Amateur Country Girl

City girl adjusting to the country life.

An Education in Domestication

Two Educators Learning about Life

