Learning style

The daily prompt asks what’s your learning style? Do you prefer learning in a group and in an interactive setting? Or one-on-one? Do you retain information best through lectures, or visuals, or simply by reading books?

It’s simpler to say what my learning style isn’t…given my extensive years as a student and as a teacher…I’ve been a teacher now for 15 years, that’s not counting four years of tutoring that I did during university…as for being a student…mmmm 7 years of primary school, 7 years of high school (as I decided to repeat year 12 to get better grades even though I passed), 4 years for the double degree at university on campus, 3 & 1/2 years external for my first masters, 1 & 1/2 years for first graduate certificate, 1 year for the second and now 2 years so far for the second masters…heck, that’s 12 years of university, oh well there’s a few qualifications there.

Anyway…given that these days the subjects are electronic I hate when there’s a lecture you have to listen to and the lecturer reads the entire powerpoint presentation word for word, um hello??? I can read, I’ve been able to read for a long time and I can read it a lot quicker than you reading it to me and take it in a lot more easily, besides I get bored when you read it to me.

Also when I’m forced to write forum posts for a university subject, oh my goodness, if people didn’t constantly think they were the experts maybe I would feel better about them, but if you’re the expert why are you studying the subject…seriously last year I did a subject on Autism and one of the students had autism and anything you wrote she knocked down, even when I said it took over 18 months to get an appointment for a diagnosis, mind you she lived 3,500km from me, in a whole different state and lived in the capital city and I’m in little Old Country Town so of course she knew more about my situation than I did, yeah I think not.  After a few posts of me saying Country Town experiences are a lot different to capital city experiences I gave up posting and when I had to grade myself I wrote that I stopped writing due to others being over the top controlling and telling me everything was wrong and thankfully the lecturer agreed.

Also I don’t do well with the whole interactive learning thing…give me my laptop, my ipad, the readings, my textbooks, my Beats headphones and some loud music while studying or writing an essay and I’m all good, none of this go at the exact pace as others, I’m a fast reader, I’ll be finished the 10 pages while others are still on page 2 and I’ll be twiddling my thumbs waiting.  Also no silence while studying, it is too distracting, other than when working on a bibliography as they still confuse me, even when it’s done perfectly there’s always someone marking who thinks it isn’t perfect.

Good thing I only ever aim for a pass these days….

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Evolution (2) | Photos to inspire you
  2. My.Vivid.Visions | Daily Prompt: Learning Style – Independent
  3. Daily Prompt: Learning Style | Awl and Scribe
  4. Daily Prompt: Learning Style | The Daily Post | live free or die trying
  5. Learning style | Sue’s Trifles
  6. Learning | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  7. Daily Prompt: Learning Style | kimmiecode 🙂
  8. Learning for the PMP exam | A mom’s blog
  9. playing together | y
  10. Daily Prompt: Learning Style « Mama Bear Musings
  11. How To Learn – How To Teach | The Jittery Goat
  12. Daily Prompt: KISS – Keep It Simple, Stoopid | Steve Says….
  13. If You’re Not Learning, Then Exactly What Are You Doing? | meanderedwanderings
  14. Life is the Best Teacher! | Dreams to Reality !
  15. Daily Prompt: Learning Style | pkuncewicz
  16. S. Thomas Summers | The Wisdom of Trolls
  17. Still Learning | Flowers and Breezes
  18. I’m a DOER! | Active Army Wife
  19. What’s the Biggest and Bestest (yes, I know it’s not a word, but it is) Influence in your Life? | An Upturned Soul
  20. Change Is Good | To Pursue Happiness
  21. The Lurker’s List | Learning to Cross the River
  22. Daily Prompt: Learning Style | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  23. Learning to Fail | 52 Miles per Month
  24. Colours, Practice, and Discussion! | Joanne Lynn
  25. Dyslexia and learning styles | RPMAS
  26. Daily Prompt Challenge – Learning | soletusknow
  27. We All Want To Go Back to Graduate School
  28. Guest Blogger: Sisfur Nalle! | Haiku By Ku
  29. Getting your hands dirty | Master Of Disaster
  30. It Speaks! | vic briggs
  31. Enthusiastic Learning | Travel with Intent
  32. Educare: to lead out | alienorajt
  33. Daily Post: Learning Style | Jottings and Writings
  34. Learning Style | Kansa Muse
  35. Daily Prompt: Learning Style | BulgingButtons
  36. DAILY PROMPT: LEARNING WITH BISCUITS | SERENDIPITY
  37. Daily Prompt: Learning Style | My Conscious Self
  38. Learning Style | The Nameless One
  39. Daily Prompt: Learning Style | Diary of Dennis
  40. Daily Prompt: Learning Style « cognitive reflection
  41. Daily Prompt: Learning Style | Potpourri Adventures
  42. History Repeats? | Chasing Rabbit Holes
  43. Daily Prompt: Learning A New Skill | Wise Counsel
  44. The Daily: Learning Style | Patty Ryan Lee
  45. The best way to Learn… | The life of T
  46. Living Dead Hands | The Seminary of Praying Mantis
  47. Daily Prompt: Learning style « MARGARET ROSE STRINGER
  48. Dance in the darkness | Muddy River Muse
  49. Love u 2 | Zakc Head
  50. Learning Style | Just for Fun Drawings
  51. Daily Prompt: Learning Style | A Weary Mind
  52. Learn. | Whispered Words
  53. Learn and fail | Inside of love
  54. Daily Prompt: Learning Style | SIM | ANTICS
  55. Lectures and books | Life is great
  56. Ryu Teaches More Than The Hadoken | polymathically
  57. Daily Prompt: Learning Style | Basically Beyond Basic
  58. Daily Prompt: Learning Style | Mac’s Blog
  59. On Love and Maintenance | THE BLACK SPAGHETTI CHRONICLES
  60. Daily Prompt: Reading, Writing, ‘Rithmetic | One Starving Activist
  61. Rewriting the Story | Wiley’s Wisdom
  62. Daily Post: My Learning Style | MonkeyGirl18’s Blog
  63. Daily Prompt: Learning Style | GG’s World
  64. Chop it up | Computer Blue
  65. Daily Prompt: Learning Style | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  66. You Feel Me? | A.C. Melody
  67. More than One Way to Draw a Circle | rarasaur
  68. 8th December : Daily Prompt: Learning Style | Family, Photos, Food & Craft
  69. Learning Time | tuckedintoacorner
  70. Triangles | theclocktowersunset
  71. Daily Prompt: Learning Style | Expressions
  72. I do it over and over and over and . . . you know. | Rob’s Surf Report
  73. Daily Prompt: Learning Style | LooknWalk
  74. The Thrill of Learning – Daily Post – Learning Style | L5GN

Leave a Reply

According To Abby

Abby Gilmore

Untidy Heidi

Naturally untidy, just trying to keep it all together!

allysonkathleen

Feeling and looking your absolute best!

CoCoHunni

My journey to become a happier, healthier me

Adventures In Onederland

"I can't go back to yesterday because I was a different person then"

Biblio Gets Fit

I love books and PF

Points to Skinny

Helping you meal plan to reach your weight goal

Miss Chardy

Laughter in the Outback

WHATTHETEACHERWEARS

'Who says you can't be fabulous between 9 & 5'

Tales of an Almost Teacher

Student Teacher Today: Superhero Tomorrow

This Mid 30s Life

It's often silly, sometimes fun and occasionally a bit boring if I'm honest.

Sweets.Eats.Treats

yummy desserts. easy meals. lazy crafternoons.

Through the THICK of it

Working towards health and happiness :)

The Life of an Amateur Country Girl

City girl adjusting to the country life.

An Education in Domestication

Two Educators Learning about Life

Journey to After

Never again will I be a "before"!

