Sink or swim….

Today’s daily prompt says tell us about a time when you were left on your own, to fend for yourself in an overwhelming situation — on the job, at home, at school. What was the outcome?

Oh where do I start???  There’s been numerous times where I’ve been left on my own, to fend for myself in an overwhelming situation.

One that leaps to mind was the first school I started working at, it was the start of my teaching career.

I’d left the city six months earlier and lived on a cattle station 100km from any town and we were cut off for a few months because of the wet season.

After that I moved to a remote Indigenous community in the middle of Australia, 300km from the nearest town, most of it down a dirt road.  There were a whole 300 people living there.

I’d been there a week, sharing a house with another teacher that I had never met, then it was a long weekend and on the Monday night I was fast asleep when I heard yelling and screaming…oh, ok the other teacher had warned me about that, had said the neighbours sometimes get a tad rowdy.  Then I heard my name, oh crap…I jumped up and went to the other teacher’s bedroom and there was a complete stranger in there, he had broken in, gone to the first room and found her sleeping, tried to attack her, she woke up and kicked him from the bed into the wardrobe.  All I said was “GET OUT!” and amazingly enough he did, he went straight to the double glass doors in the lounge, opened one and then crawled out the screen door as he’d popped it off the track.  All this at 3am…on a school night.  So we ring the nurse who is just across an open block from us and then police are called and we have to wait for them to arrive from the next community out from us.

They arrive and by the end of the day us and the other teacher and the principal are removed from the community and the school closed for a week and the man is in custody as apparently he was wanting to go to jail…I’m serious, there he would have a bed, food and a roof over his head during the freezing desert winter nights.

Now being completely new to the area I didn’t know what to do or think…in the end my dad came up, I mean I was only 23 at the time, and the other teacher’s family was coming up.  My dad went out to the community with me to see how I would cope going back out there and the elders told him not to worry as the attacker was not from there and if he tried to go back there they would kill him, and they weren’t joking.

But then going back there on my own a week later was terrifying in the least to start with…and there were plenty of nights sleeping with the lights on and in front of the turned on tv for a while, even though I knew I was safe.

It was all good until a couple of years later when he was released from jail.  I had moved to another community, but some of the new community had family at the old community so they had warned them and they were on the look out for me…which was comforting to an extent.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Russian Accordionist | Photos to inspire you
  2. Perseverance | The Magic Black Book
  3. Sink or Swim | Geek Ergo Sum
  4. Persist | thinkerscap
  5. Sink, Swim or Fly | The Ambitious Drifter
  6. Endure | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  7. Alone Again Naturally | Finale to an Entrance
  8. DEPRESSED OPTIMIST + PAINTS + BRUSHES | Standing Ovation, Seated
  9. The deep end of the pool | RPMAS
  10. PROMPT: Sink or Swim | AvaLlea’s Blog
  11. Silent Agony… | paperdollsletter
  12. Doing The Right Thing Can Leave You Lonely | The Jittery Goat
  13. I said loudly, in my best English tourist voice, “Does this go to…” | thoughtsofrkh
  14. True beauty | Veni, vici, vidi
  15. The Tow Truck Driver Drove a Chariot
  16. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim | Awl and Scribe
  17. God’s Grace | A mom’s blog
  18. Sinking not an option for cowards | crookedeyebrows
  19. Women in East : One Perspective ! | Dreams to Reality !
  20. Winter Water | The Ring Lady
  21. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim – A migrant’s story | littlegirlstory
  22. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim | Finding Life
  23. Whatever It Takes | Lori’s Life and Other Stuff
  24. Sink or swim? | Motherhood and Beyond
  25. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim – My Car Buying Experience | The Story of a Guy
  26. When life steals your lemons… | Words
  27. Perseverance in Harness | Kansa Muse
  28. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  29. Sink or Swim? So limiting… | It’s my blog, innit…
  30. Even a Fool Can See | Not a Punk Rocker
  31. Learning Patience… | Haiku By Ku
  32. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim | Basically Beyond Basic
  33. Daily Prompt: Dive! Dive! Dive! | One Starving Activist
  34. The debate | Life is great
  35. “By Myself” | Active Army Wife
  36. DP Challenge: Sink or Swim « Morning Pages
  37. Tree Trials | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  38. Sink or Swim? | mineisdee
  39. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim/ Out on my Own | The Smallest of Stars
  40. Sing or Swim – Compass & Quill
  41. Sink or Swim | Bright Tuesday
  42. Drown or paddle | LauGraEva
  43. ALONE WITH SHAME | Emotional Fitness
  44. Daily Prompt: Scar | Morrighan’s Muse
  45. At The End Of My Last Dime! | *Recovery Ramblins Blog Of ~ Author Catherine Lyon*
  46. Blue Loft
  47. The Glowing Tree | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  48. Glub, glub, glub … (sink or swim) | I Didn’t Just Wake Up This Morning with a Craving
  49. Extreme business as usual | Le Drake Noir
  50. Treading Water | A Good One
  51. Daily Post:Sink or Swim #poetry #photography #dpchallenge | Moondustwriter’s Blog
  52. Old Glory | Real Life Co.
  53. Constant | Words on a Page
  54. Leap of Faith | A Room of One’s Own
  55. Loneliness sucks! | The Flavored Word
  56. On My Own | Flowers and Breezes
  57. Stranger | Radioactive Bubblegum
  58. Out of My Comfort Zone | The Mockingbird in Me
  59. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim | Winging it
  60. Daily Prompt/Critical Care | The Between
  61. Hanging chickens, washing machines and a screaming pink smell | Many musings blog’s Blog
  62. Sink or Swim – Part 1 | A Story About A Girl
  63. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim | MKG- Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts
  64. A Hundred and Four Questions with No Answers | Virginia Views
  65. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim…Hit or Miss, What will you Pick? | Isabel MissV
  66. Sinking While Swimming | Mountains or Molehills
  67. Sink or Swim | The Pigeon Blog
  68. Sink or Swim | I Write Therefore I Am
  69. Sink or Swim! ACK!!!!! The stress!!! *grumble* | Kawanee’s Korner
  70. Sink or Swim | draccoonian
  71. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim | Pampered Pussy
  72. Day and Night | Retrofocus
  73. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim. | eBook Sharing
  74. Sink or Swim: Perseverance | My Conscious Self
  75. Perseverance… The Word for the Day (Hebrews 12:1) | The Abuse Expose’ with Secret Angel
  76. I found blood and I saw stars | Peace, Puppies, and Mimoसे (Formerly The Lesser Canine)
  77. Perseverance | 18 million pixels
  78. Seeing Through the Fog | Wiley’s Wisdom
  79. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim (Joint Post) | A Midnight Blog
  80. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim | adorablyobnoxious
  81. Daily Prompt: Sink or Swim | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  82. Swink or Sim | Aurora Morealist
  83. Aurora Morealist
  84. Sink or Swim that is the lessons of life | Shetall says
  85. The Nursery Room | Abby vs. The World
  86. vic briggs
  87. Response to Daily Post’s Daily Prompt | The life of one woman…
5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: God’s Grace | A mom's blog
  2. Trackback: LEFT OR RIGHT | victor's mind
  3. Trackback: Sink or Swim? So limiting… | It's my blog, innit...
  4. Trackback: EMOTIONAL BONDAGE | hastywords
  5. Trackback: Destroy Build | Edward Hotspur

Leave a Reply

Oxford Australia blog

For the love of learning

According To Abby

Abby Gilmore

Untidy Heidi

Naturally untidy, just trying to keep it all together!

allysonkathleen

Feeling and looking your absolute best!

CoCoHunni

My journey to become a happier, healthier me

Adventures In Onederland

"I can't go back to yesterday because I was a different person then"

Biblio Gets Fit

I love books and PF

Points to Skinny

Helping you meal plan to reach your weight goal

Miss Chardy

Laughter in the Outback

WHATTHETEACHERWEARS

'Who says you can't be fabulous between 9 & 5'

Tales of an Almost Teacher

Student Teacher Today: Superhero Tomorrow

This Mid 30s Life

It's often silly, sometimes fun and occasionally a bit boring if I'm honest.

Sweets.Eats.Treats

yummy desserts. easy meals. lazy crafternoons.

Through the THICK of it

Working towards health and happiness :)

The Life of an Amateur Country Girl

City girl adjusting to the country life.

An Education in Domestication

Two Educators Learning about Life

