Fear Factor

I’m a day behind on the daily prompt again…end of year reports, handover items and the Christmas concert seem to be taking over my life.

So here goes…people are afraid of all kinds of things: spiders, the dark, or being enclosed in small spaces. Tell us about your greatest fear — rational or irrational.

Oh fears…being a person with anxiety there are a few.

I hate public speaking, which is slightly bizarre as I’m a teacher.  I can talk in front of a classroom full of cherubs, or even a school full of cherubs…but am terrified in front of a few adults, god knows I hate having to present to teachers at work.

I’m terrified of a few animals…snakes, mice, crocodiles, horses…yes it might all seem rather random…but it’s how it is.

Heights…oh dear lord I won’t go up a ladder…I’ll stand on a chair, that’s doable…a table, yeah that’s pushing it…but a ladder, no way, no hope, no how.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Spinning a Web of Words | In Harmony
  2. Courage | The Magic Black Book
  3. DP : Irrational Fear | Experimental Fiction
  4. Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | Everyday Adventures
  5. It was November, and I was afraid | Butterfly Mind
  6. Fanning the Flames of Fear | Spirit Lights The Way
  7. Emotional Baggage | Kate Murray
  8. My.Vivid.Visions | Daily Prompt: Fear Factor
  9. Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | Under the Monkey Tree
  10. 227. Fear Factor | Barely Right of Center
  11. Arthur Overcomes The Fear Of Books, (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat
  12. Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | Insanitree
  13. Fear Factor: A litany of phobias | James Clegg
  14. Courage | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  15. Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | Finding Life
  16. I ain’t afraid of no ghosts…or whatever the line is from “Ghostbusters” | thoughtsofrkh
  17. theferkel | My Irrational Fear of Spiders
  18. ermahgerhd | Darkness
  19. Going through Childbirth | A mom’s blog
  20. Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | On My Front Porch
  21. Rob’s Surf Report
  22. Fear | The Nameless One
  23. Fear | victor’s mind
  24. Not being loved | alienorajt
  25. MONSTER MYTHS – not exactly bedtime stories | Historiefortelling
  26. DP: Courage and Facing Fears | 3 Nish on a Journey
  27. Fear Factor | Braised Pork on Rice
  28. Conception of acceptation | Veni, vici, vidi
  29. I Still Walk Miles… | Retrofocus
  30. DAILY PROMPT: FEAR FACTOR – EEK! | SERENDIPITY
  31. HIGH HOPES | seifsalamakarem
  32. Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | Awl and Scribe
  33. Tough Mudder and My Glass Case of Emotion | Lori’s Life and Other Stuff
  34. Daily Prompt : Fear Factor | Scary Movie Ghosts | LoudThoughtsVoicedOut
  35. Fear | CombatBabe
  36. An Irrational Fear | Hey there, I’m Jimin.
  37. Phobophobia | Processing the life
  38. My Other Blog | Daily Prompt: Fear Factor
  39. Fear: Good or Bad? | meanderedwanderings
  40. Just Sayin’
  41. Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | Basically Beyond Basic
  42. Open Hearts… | Haiku By Ku
  43. Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  44. Afraid of death | Life is great
  45. Stagecraft | vic briggs
  46. Daily Prompt: Fear | Bowl of Rice
  47. My Not so Unique Fear | TechnoTom
  48. Must not cry, must not cry, must not freaking cry!! | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind
  49. Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | 20 Lines A Day
  50. It takes courage… | Words ‘n Pics
  51. Be the Light | Eyes to Heart
  52. The Species of the Two-Legged Beast | Lipstick and Lithium
  53. Jangan takut untuk takut | The Frozen Tears
  54. Courage | Flowers and Breezes
  55. Daily Prompt: Arachnawhoha | One Starving Activist
  56. Fear Factor. | ♡ self destruction ♡
  57. FEAR – Enemies and Other Mean People | Sisters of Christ
  58. Daily Prompt: Courage-Riddle Me This | UP! With Jesus
  59. My Apple is Poisoned | An Upturned Soul
  60. A LIVING DEATH | Emotional Fitness
  61. More Food for Thought on Spiders… | Once There Was a Penguin
  62. Behind Closed Doors | Blue Loft
  63. Cottage-ing Gone Wrong | carellyn
  64. Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | SIM | ANTICS
  65. Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | Poetry
  66. She often was afraid | tjbarkerseattle
  67. Fear Factor: Courage – A Festival of Lights | Khana’s Web
  68. Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | A chain of thoughts…
  69. Daily Prompt: Sugar’s Taking The Challenge ..Post 25..Courage | heysugarsugar
  70. A Letter to Santa – Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | Dick-ta-tion
  71. Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | James’s Journal
  72. Sweet Potato & Walnut Pancakes | The Imperfect Kitchen
  73. 28/11 Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | Family, Photos, Food & Craft
  74. I fear my old self. I fear loosing you. | Ipso facto
  75. Fear Factor | draccoonian
  76. Daily Prompt Challenge ~ Courage | soletusknow
  77. Child’s Play | I Am Jenny
  78. Daily Prompt: Fear Factor – Fear of Caterpillars « Beats of Pieces
  79. Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | adorablyobnoxious
  80. And She Outlived Them All… | A.C. Melody
  81. Daily post: Mi casa isn’t su casa | helen meikle’s scribblefest
  82. Daily Prompt: Fear Factor, Or: Rejection VS Individuality | polymathically
  83. Daily Prompt: Arachnid Factor | Overcoming Bloglessness
  84. Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | thisblogisepic
  85. Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  86. Child’s Play | Careless Whispers
  87. Fear of Failure | crookedeyebrows
  88. A weird but interesting phobia- information | મન ની વાત
  89. Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | The Blogging Path
  90. Fear Factor | Bad Parenting 101
  91. ჩვენ, ანუ ჩვენ და პარლამენტი ისევ ბუნების სამსახურში! | თეკალოს ბლოგი
  92. Daily Prompt: Courage | Foto Challenge
  93. My Battle with Acne (I Won). | Mod with Love
  94. Common Core or Common Crap? Fear of Failure | knappermiester
  95. Fear and Loathing, Not In Las Vegas | tuckedintoacorner
  96. Tigeress in me | Shetall says
  97. Fear of going first
  98. A Faulty Character | iandmypuzzlepieces
  99. All My Fears From A to Z | Breathing Space
  100. Seriously? I mean, really?? a GARBAGE can??? | the REmissionary
  101. Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | Kawanee’s Korner
  102. So Far Yet So Near | Raising Jed
4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. melodyspen
    Nov 30, 2013 @ 12:12:51

    I’m with you on the heights!

    Reply

    • shirlld
      Dec 08, 2013 @ 20:21:52

      I’m scared of heights, won’t climb things…but will go up tall buildings and admire the view…until I accidentally look down and freak out!

      Reply

  2. znjavid
    Nov 30, 2013 @ 13:49:16

    I’m like you with fear of public speaking. Strangely enough I’m OK speaking to a large group of children, it’s just the adults that get me all nervous.

    Reply

    • shirlld
      Dec 08, 2013 @ 20:22:47

      I think it’s because kids doesn’t question quite as much in the same way that adults do and kids aren’t quite as critical in the same way as adults are.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Oxford Australia blog

For the love of learning

According To Abby

Abby Gilmore

Untidy Heidi

Naturally untidy, just trying to keep it all together!

allysonkathleen

Feeling and looking your absolute best!

CoCoHunni

My journey to become a happier, healthier me

Adventures In Onederland

"I can't go back to yesterday because I was a different person then"

Biblio Gets Fit

I love books and PF

Points to Skinny

Helping you meal plan to reach your weight goal

Miss Chardy

Laughter in the Outback

WHATTHETEACHERWEARS

'Who says you can't be fabulous between 9 & 5'

Tales of an Almost Teacher

Student Teacher Today: Superhero Tomorrow

This Mid 30s Life

It's often silly, sometimes fun and occasionally a bit boring if I'm honest.

Sweets.Eats.Treats

yummy desserts. easy meals. lazy crafternoons.

Through the THICK of it

Working towards health and happiness :)

The Life of an Amateur Country Girl

City girl adjusting to the country life.

An Education in Domestication

Two Educators Learning about Life

