Close call…

Okay I’m a couple behind on the daily prompt…so today will have two, so here’s the first one…Tell us about a bullet you’re glad you dodged — when something awful almost happened, but didn’t.

When I went on the trip to New York for my 35th birthday I had an amazing time…which I’ve written about a couple of times.

However, what I haven’t written was what happened when I landed back in Australia.  After I landed in Sydney and made it through customs and took the train from the international terminal to the domestic terminal I finally sat down and texted my family to let them know that I had landed back in the country.

Then things took an interesting turn…I was sitting down waiting to check in for the next flight, which was a few hours later so I had my luggage and I had a coffee and some breakfast as it was about 6:30am and my mobile rings and it was my dad who asked if I was okay.  I had no idea what he was talking about.

Turns out that Osama Bin Laden had been killed right before I had boarded the plane in Los Angeles…I had texted my family right before boarding.  We weren’t told a single thing on the flight, however it made me think that it was interesting that right before I boarded the flight that all military personnel in the airport were called to a service counter.

In a way I’m so glad that nothing was said while we were on the flight…it would have made the flight a lot different.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Листья на заборе | Markovich Arts
  2. Spinning a Web of Words | In Harmony
  3. Silence in the Metro | MC’s Whispers
  4. Close | The Magic Black Book
  5. A knife and “you don’t love me so you have to die” | RPMAS
  6. Daily Prompt: Close Call | 3 Nish on a Journey
  7. Daily Prompt: Close Call | Insanitree
  8. Daily Prompt: Close Call | Basically Beyond Basic
  9. Daily Prompt: Close Call | Under the Monkey Tree
  10. Close. | Hope* the happy hugger
  11. Daily Prompt: Close Call | Awl and Scribe
  12. That One Time I Almost Got Married | Dear Yolandi
  13. A(n?) Haiku for you… | thoughtsofrkh
  14. Live peacefully | crookedeyebrows
  15. Just missing the femoral artery | alienorajt
  16. DAILY PROMPT: TOO CLOSE TO CALL | SERENDIPITY
  17. The man with nine lives: Part III | noah121weiss
  18. 25/11 Daily Prompt: Close Call | Family, Photos, Food & Craft
  19. Close Call: Nowhere Man | James Clegg
  20. A Petulant Pimple and a Middle Finger Salute | sayanything
  21. ermahgerhd | Almost Dead
  22. Walk in the dark. | Whispered Words
  23. Daily Prompt: Close Call | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  24. On the Road Again With A Close Call | Kansa Muse
  25. So close…. | Inside of love
  26. Close Call | Flowers and Breezes
  27. Close as a close thing | Kate Murray
  28. Woke Up As A Eunuch* | Finale to an Entrance
  29. Living on… | Haiku By Ku
  30. The Train On The Track | The Jittery Goat
  31. Molotov cocktail | Life is great
  32. Daily Prompt: Close Call – Why I Won’t Ride a Bike | I Hope You’re Taking Notes
  33. Daily Prompt: Close Call | Sued51’s Blog
  34. Close Call | A mom’s blog
  35. Daily Prompt: Close Call | Active Army Wife
  36. Law III: To every action there is always an equal and opposite reaction. | Sorrow & The Liberation
  37. My Stay in the Matrix: The Bullet I Dodged | The Arkside of Thought
  38. Close Call | Going New Places!
  39. An Upturned Soul
  40. Want To Go For An After Midnight Ride in my Van? | An Upturned Soul
  41. Running against the stream | Historiefortelling
  42. Daily Prompt: Close | Lostinthot
  43. Close | On Thick Ice – The Spurious Imaginings of Reality
  44. It’s a war zone around here! | Rob’s Surf Report
  45. So close but so far that we couldn’t see each other | Laura’s Little Things
  46. Close |
  47. A close call: Dodged a bullet | My Weary Heart
  48. Daily Prompt: Close Call | Poetry
  49. A Close Call: Finding out when I found out | baja querida
  50. The secret service of our society | Le Drake Noir
  51. Close Call | Crowing Crone Joss
  52. Free Spirit – Daily Prompt: Close Call | babystepstowriting
  53. Daily Prompt: Close Call | Hear Em Rant Oft
  54. Daily Prompt : Close Call | Valley Girl Gone Country
  55. Daily Prompt: Close Call | SIM | ANTICS
  56. MASTERING GRATITUDE | Emotional Fitness
  57. A close call | Dhikrcave
  58. First you save a life | Muddy River Muse
  59. Dodging a bullet of the past, perhaps literally | Ryan Erickson
  60. Dodged Bullets — My Relationship Kevlar | thisblogisepic
  61. Close Call | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  62. This doesn’t make sense | tjbarkerseattle
  63. Return of Cloud Capture Monday: A Close Call | Light Words
  64. Daily Prompt: Close Call | Crow Arrow, Inc.
  65. Daily Prompt: Close Call | jane sleeps here
  66. Daily post: Seems I’ve dodged the dodging | helen meikle’s scribblefest
  67. Daily Prompt: Close Call | Finding Life
  68. Claustrophobia | Gilded Warrior
  69. Daily Prompt: Close Calls with the second criminal class | @ The West Gate
  70. Dodging Bullets | Wiley’s Wisdom
  71. Introduction to “Post A Week 2013.” | Greg Urbano
  72. “Close Call” Post A Week 2013 | Greg Urbano
  73. Daily Prompt : A close call | Journey of an Idea
  74. Daily Prompt: Dodged the bullet | ferwam
  75. Daily Prompt: Close Call | thirtythrees
  76. Close, But No Cigar | tuckedintoacorner
  77. did we miss a bullet literally? quite possibly | wise monkeys abroad
  78. Daily Prompt: Close Call | polymathically
  79. Reprimand | vic briggs
  80. Daily Prompt: Close Call | adorablyobnoxious
  81. Close Call | The Nameless One
  82. Innocents … lost | LynnSlyWrites
  83. Busy Mama » Dodged Bullets — My Relationship Kevlar
  84. Daily Prompt: Close Call | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: By God’s Grace and Mercy | A Short A Day

Leave a Reply

According To Abby

Abby Gilmore

Untidy Heidi

Naturally untidy, just trying to keep it all together!

allysonkathleen

Feeling and looking your absolute best!

CoCoHunni

My journey to become a happier, healthier me

Adventures In Onederland

"I can't go back to yesterday because I was a different person then"

Biblio Gets Fit

I love books and PF

Points to Skinny

Helping you meal plan to reach your weight goal

Miss Chardy

Laughter in the Outback

WHATTHETEACHERWEARS

'Who says you can't be fabulous between 9 & 5'

Tales of an Almost Teacher

Student Teacher Today: Superhero Tomorrow

This Mid 30s Life

It's often silly, sometimes fun and occasionally a bit boring if I'm honest.

Sweets.Eats.Treats

yummy desserts. easy meals. lazy crafternoons.

Through the THICK of it

Working towards health and happiness :)

The Life of an Amateur Country Girl

City girl adjusting to the country life.

An Education in Domestication

Two Educators Learning about Life

Journey to After

Never again will I be a "before"!

