Talking Australian English…

For today’s daily prompt it says write about whatever you’d like, but write using regional slang, your dialect, or in your accent.

Australian English isn’t simple at the best of times.  Australian English changes depending on where you are.  The ABC has been nice enough to create a website to help with Australian English.

So here’s a paragraph with a few Australianisms from the various country towns I have lived in…

I woke up in the donga and had a bogey.  I rode my pushie down the road, across the grid and through the scrub to the river.  I got there and saw that old mate was already there swimming and when he got up I pissed myself cos his dick togs got stuck up his mana. He noticed me and it was such a shame job.  I headed home and saw the biggest mob of kangaroo and a coupla porcupine.  On the way home I went to the shop and got some little boys, snot blocks and poppers for mangarri at recess.  I paid the kartiya my money and headed home.  I got there and the little tackers gave me so much humbug.  They thought I was gammon about seeing old mate in his dick togs, but it was true ey.

Have fun trying to work that out

Seeing as I’ve been asked for a translation to the above paragraph here it is…

I woke up in my house and had a shower.  I rode my bike down the road and across the cattle grid in the road, through the trees and bush to the river.  I got there and saw a man was already there swimming and when he got up I couldn’t stop laughing as he Speedos were stuck up his bottom.  He noticed me and I was so embarrassed.  I headed home and saw a lot of kangaroos and a couple of echidnas.  On the way home I went to the shop and got some cocktail frankfurters, vanilla slices and fruit juice boxes to eat at school for recess/morning tea.  I paid the person my money and headed home.  I got there and the children all hassled me.  They thought I was lying about seeing the man in his Speedos, but it was true.

Some definitions…

A donga is a transportable house, they are generally rather small compared to a lot of other houses and often stay in one place for a long time.  I live in a donga, it’s been in the same place for about 15 years now.

Mana, mangarri and kartiya are all words from Aboriginal English and used in a number of the places that I have lived.  Kartiya is the word for while person, mana for bottom/backside and mangarri for food.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Raindrops | Bright Moments Catcher
  2. Good night! | Bright Moments Catcher
  3. Non-Regional Diction | Geek Ergo Sum
  4. Donna takes her own sweet time | We Live In A Flat
  5. Daily Prompt: Non-Regional Diction | Under the Monkey Tree
  6. Daily Prompt: Non-Regional Diction – Durians, lah | littlegirlstory
  7. Daily Prompt – Local: Don’t ask for the subway in Mun-tree-all unless you’re hungry | DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society
  8. Daily Prompt: Non-Regional Diction « Mama Bear Musings
  9. Daily Prompt: Non-Regional Diction | Awl and Scribe
  10. Whits ‘at aw aboot? | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind
  11. Ain’t nothing quite as useful as gatvol… | thoughtsofrkh
  12. Peter And Uncle Joe Down On The Farm | The Jittery Goat
  13. Daily Prompt: Non-Regional Diction | Anniemation Floe
  14. To Drive or Be Driven – Touring Southern Ireland | The Library Lady and Rosie Bear
  15. Daily Prompt: Non-Regional Diction Yooper Style | Photos and writings
  16. Rashmi Rathi (with translation) : Best hindi poem | Processing the life
  17. A Piece of my Mind | Honey Did you See That?
  18. Local 1330 | Javagrrl Cafe
  19. Daily Prompt: Non-Regional Diction | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  20. Daily Prompt: Non-Regional Diction | crookedeyebrows
  21. DAILY PROMPT: LOCALLY SPEAKING | SERENDIPITY
  22. A guinea pig’s accent unveiled! | alienorajt
  23. A Welsh Short Story | Kate Murray
  24. Black Bears and Elk | The Land Slide Photography
  25. Cheeken A-Nee-Mal & Pig onna Roof (Daily Prompt) « Overcoming to Becoming
  26. “Local” | Relax
  27. Non-Regional Diction | The Nameless One
  28. Talk the Talk | Kansa Muse
  29. jes a’ swappin’ howdies withee – so . . . howdy | the REmissionary
  30. Daily Prompt: Non-Regional Diction | Basically Beyond Basic
  31. Harvest Moon setting over Portland, OR – 9/30/12 | Emerald Studio Photography
  32. Learning from you | Life is great
  33. Three Sheets to the Wind | sayanything
  34. Killing Pushto | Flowers and Breezes
  35. Doing it the South African way. | Hope* the happy hugger
  36. Urdu and Desis | A mom’s blog
  37. Daily Prompt: Local | Postcards from
  38. Trust A Try [Daily Prompt: Non-Regional Diction] | unknowinglee
  39. School was Chool | A String of Pearls
  40. A Trip to the Store: Non-Regional Diction | 2nd Time Is A Charm
  41. Come on in a sit a spell. I gots a tall tale to tell ya | mostlytrueramblings
  42. Day 20 – an alley (not a room) with a view | Laura’s Little Things
  43. “Namputcha naman!” | My Weary Heart
  44. Daily Prompt: Local | Photographs by James Collett
  45. Taglish | JC Bride ~
  46. Nothing Remains the Same | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  47. Daily Prompt: Local | Ninnas Words ‘n Pics
  48. Daily Prompt: Non-Regional Diction | Ramblings of a jerk
  49. On the Local Front … | Eyes to Heart
  50. S. Thomas Summers | Slang and Dialect
  51. Late Night Set | tjbarkerseattle
  52. Daily Prompt: Non-Regional Diction | lifebeinggirly
  53. Daily Prompt Non Regional Diction: Trog and other Animals | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)
  54. Surfer Rob’s Vernacular Spectacular! | Rob’s Surf Report
  55. Daily post: Talkin’ Oz – sort of… | helen meikle’s scribblefest
  56. Daily Prompt: Non-Regional Diction: Philippines | Memory Bank of the Nocturnal
  57. Daily Prompt: Non-Regional Diction | Rosevoc2’s Blog
  58. Daily Prompt: Local | phoenixtatgirl
  59. Daily Prompt: Local | Life With Mike and Lindy
  60. Why the English language intrigues me | Language. Photography.
  61. Say again? | 6 of One…
  62. Ashley Goes Local! | Fish Avenue
  63. No Words | Wiley’s Wisdom
  64. Night Owls and their Coffee ~ | .:Lani’s Summer in Rain
  65. Daily Prompt: Non-Regional Diction | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  66. Daily Prompt: Non-Regional Diction, Yo | misscraftyengineer
  67. American vs. British Spellings | Write Through Life
  68. Try Wait? | Holoholo Girls
  69. Maraming Salamat Po Mula Sa Lahat Ng Mga Pilipino! | In My Rowjiescope
  70. On The Filipino Language | Abby vs. The World
6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. misselletea
    Nov 15, 2013 @ 21:08:40

    ha ha ha ha. I;m stuck! 🙂

    Reply

  2. The Asian
    Nov 15, 2013 @ 22:55:29

    Is that even English? 😉

    Reply

  3. helen meikle's scribblefest
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 07:07:37

    To think I”ve lived here all my life and not known about snot blocks! Eaten a few, though…

    Reply

  4. trina59
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 16:47:22

    Coud you please post a translation? It sounded like an interesting little story, but I was not able to figure it out. I like it!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Oxford Australia blog

For the love of learning

According To Abby

Abby Gilmore

Untidy Heidi

Naturally untidy, just trying to keep it all together!

allysonkathleen

Feeling and looking your absolute best!

CoCoHunni

My journey to become a happier, healthier me

Adventures In Onederland

"I can't go back to yesterday because I was a different person then"

Biblio Gets Fit

I love books and PF

Points to Skinny

Helping you meal plan to reach your weight goal

Miss Chardy

Laughter in the Outback

WHATTHETEACHERWEARS

'Who says you can't be fabulous between 9 & 5'

Tales of an Almost Teacher

Student Teacher Today: Superhero Tomorrow

This Mid 30s Life

It's often silly, sometimes fun and occasionally a bit boring if I'm honest.

Sweets.Eats.Treats

yummy desserts. easy meals. lazy crafternoons.

Through the THICK of it

Working towards health and happiness :)

The Life of an Amateur Country Girl

City girl adjusting to the country life.

An Education in Domestication

Two Educators Learning about Life

