Food, glorious, food…

I’m a tad behind my normal schedule for the Daily Prompt today.

Initially when they were released at 8pm my time I would do them at night, then I changed it to the morning, when I first got up and then that made more sense as they were moved to 9pm.  This morning however was almost like a comedy of errors and phone calls going in circles trying to get info for the movers.

Anyway the topic today is tell us about your favorite meal, either to eat or to prepare. Does it just taste great, or does it have other associations?

The above image is rather poetic.  I quite enjoy making cakes, can’t say the same about icing them, I have to work on my icing skills.  Anyway I enjoy making birthday cakes for a few friends, but as for my own birthday…yeah I get kind of fussy there, especially as it’s been a fair few years since anyone made me a birthday cake.  Even longer since they actually made it for me on my birthday, so I generally decide to make my own, except for this year when I was in Fiji for my birthday and in 2011 when I was in New York for my birthday.

I figure if it is my birthday then I should get the cake I want, not the cake that someone else things that I want.  What’s the point of not being able to choose or at least provide suggestions for your birthday cake?  It’s my cake, I want something that I will enjoy.  So don’t bother coming near me with an almond orange cake, I’m so not interested in it.  I’ll make it for my friend’s birthday, but god help me if I’m tasting it.  Just the stench of the oranges boiling is almost enough to make me vomit.  I know I make a damn good almond orange cake with toffee on the top, but I’ve never tried it and never planned on trying it, but I know it is good as my friend loves it.

As for me…well a nice mud cake would go down well.  A delicious cheesecake, there’s a number of varieties that would go down well.  Nigella’s lemon meringue cake…yes please, any day, any time.  I could keep going on, but I’m sure the calories would attempt to enter my mind, even if the cakes are imaginary.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Daily Prompt: Food for the Soul (and the Stomach) | Awl and Scribe
  2. Food for the Soul (and the Stomach) | Geek Ergo Sum
  3. Daily Prompt: Food for the Soul (and the Stomach) | Under the Monkey Tree
  4. How to make an omelette, for Dummies- Daily Prompt | The Rider
  5. My Heart and Soul… | Haiku By Ku
  6. Everyone Loves Waffles | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  7. The Feel of Taste | Barefoot on Rainy Days
  8. ‘If music be the food of love, play on!’ | alienorajt
  9. Spaghetti and a silent prayer | paperdollsletter
  10. Food for the Soul | Finale to an Entrance
  11. My Favourite Meal | Bizzimummy’s World
  12. Top Ten Specials | vicbriggs’s blog
  13. Asian Affair | Kansa Muse
  14. 頂き物!:日本語のたべものがだいすきです!(Itadakimasu! I love Japanese food!) | Eyes Through The Glass – A Blog About Asperger’s
  15. Food for the Soul (and the Stomach) | View From The Third Eye
  16. Apple Strudel | Life is great
  17. Food for the Soul (and the Stomach) | The Nameless One
  18. Perfecting Patty
  19. “Food for the Soul (and Stomach)” | Relax
  20. Daily Prompt: Food for the soul (and the stomach) | autopict
  21. Day 17 – delicious Albanian dishes from amazing Mrizi i Zanave | Laura’s Little Things
  22. Daily Prompt: Food for the Soul (and the Stomach) | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  23. Rural Tourism in Russia: Drying apples | Bright Moments Catcher
  24. Daily Prompt: | Jottings and Writings
  25. Den stive, kalde hvite, den bløte sorte og den lealøse indianerjenten | brorsadu
  26. The Last Supper | Cheri Speak
  27. Beans Salad | Flowers and Breezes
  28. Daly prompt – Food! | Words ‘n Pics
  29. Food for Survival : Charity during Durga Puja | Processing the life
  30. Food! | Words ‘n Pics
  31. A statement from the artist | tjbarkerseattle
  32. Food for the Soul and Stomach | Blogging Vogging…
  33. The scents of life | Mariposa Social
  34. HomeGrown Pumpkin Pie for the Soul | DebBee … the gardening bee
  35. Daily Post: Food | Destino
  36. Blue Plate Special Soup | The Blue Plate Special
  37. These are a stew of my favorite things. | With Cream and Sugar
  38. Dead on Arrival: What’s on Your Plate? (Daily Prompt: Food for the Soul) | erinshelby, freelance writer
  39. Living Without the Crack [Part 3] | JC Bride ~
  40. Food to me | JC Bride ~
  41. Food for the Soul » Kryson’s Kreations
  42. Daily Prompt: Food for the Soul (and the Stomach) | Basically Beyond Basic
  43. Food for the Soul (and the Stomach) | Drops of Ink
  44. Daily Prompt: Food for the Soul (and the Stomach) | Scones | CraftyMama
  45. Soup Day | Muddy River Muse
  46. Food for the Soul shared on Thanksgiving | Culture Jaunt
  47. A Zesty Monday..kind of! | A Journey Called Life …
  48. Soup Meditation (Food for the Soul) | my dearest cassandra
  49. Daily Prompt: Food | Chronicles of a Public Transit User
  50. Daily Prompt: Food for the Soul (and the Stomach) | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  51. Favorite meals: It’s a toss up between Sauerkraut, Pork and Dumplings or Ham Pot Pie | RPMAS
  52. Double Trouble | carellyn
  53. Food for the Soul | The Pigeon Blog
  54. Daily Prompt: Food for the Soul (and stomach) | Making Life an Art
  55. Daily post: Nibble Nobby’s nuts | helen meikle’s scribblefest
  56. Daily Prompt: Food for the Soul (and the Stomach) | My Conflicting Thoughts
  57. Daily Prompt: Food for the Soul (and the Stomach) | Write Through Life
  58. Food for the Soul (and the Stomach) | Life of a Minister Mom
  59. Roasted Hoisin Pork Tenderloin & Wild Rice ~ A Dish Fine Enough to Impress! | Mmm, Taste This!
  60. 73. Fooding | Spy Garden
  61. Down Home, Ham Hocks and Beans….(wp daily prompt) | Daily Observations
  62. Daily Prompt: Food | sukies original
  63. Boiled Egg | Mara Eastern’s Personal Blog
  64. Red Pill, Blue Pill | beachlog
  65. Noodle Dependency | Holoholo Girls

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Food! | Words 'n Pics

Leave a Reply

According To Abby

Abby Gilmore

Untidy Heidi

Naturally untidy, just trying to keep it all together!

allysonkathleen

Feeling and looking your absolute best!

CoCoHunni

My journey to become a happier, healthier me

Adventures In Onederland

"I can't go back to yesterday because I was a different person then"

Biblio Gets Fit

I love books and PF

Points to Skinny

Helping you meal plan to reach your weight goal

Miss Chardy

Laughter in the Outback

WHATTHETEACHERWEARS

'Who says you can't be fabulous between 9 & 5'

Tales of an Almost Teacher

Student Teacher Today: Superhero Tomorrow

This Mid 30s Life

It's often silly, sometimes fun and occasionally a bit boring if I'm honest.

Sweets.Eats.Treats

yummy desserts. easy meals. lazy crafternoons.

Through the THICK of it

Working towards health and happiness :)

The Life of an Amateur Country Girl

City girl adjusting to the country life.

An Education in Domestication

Two Educators Learning about Life

Journey to After

Never again will I be a "before"!

