University

That is me right now…it will be me again sometime on Sunday or Monday…and then the relief of another semester being over.

For some insane reason late in 2011 I decided that I needed to study again…not that I have a need to…not that I’m in anyway under-qualified.  I mean I’ve got two Bachelor degrees, thankfully they were done at the same time as a four year double degree.

Then 1 & 1/2 years into my teaching life I decided to do my masters, for no reason other than I was in a tiny community of 300 people and I was bored and curious…so I started that and it was all good to start with…8 subjects of my choosing, but then I had the brainwave of “seeing as I started mid year, I should do two subjects the last semester to get it done with and not carry it into a new calendar year” which was good until both subjects had the essays due on the same day…oh dear lord that was not the best of times.  So that took 3 & 1/2 years to complete and I managed to jump a level on the pay scale…not that it matters now.

Then when I started working more in IT in schools I decided to do a graduate certificate in that…thankfully that was an absolute breeze, I got a credit for one subject, and the other three were simple as they were no extra work other than what I was already doing…until my then principal said I should apply for a scholarship for a graduate certificate in a different area of IT and education that was being run by a university in conjunction with Microsoft…and then I got the damn scholarship…so while I was doing the last subject of the first graduate certificate I was doing the first two of the next one!!! Yes that’s right, working full time and doing three uni subjects in the middle of nowhere!!!

Then I told myself no more studying, even though the uni of the first graduate certificate offered to pay for me to do my doctorate…yeah I decided I didn’t really want to be Dr Country Girl…that lasted 5 years until I decided to do this second masters…I mean seriously a second masters, other than gaining a lot of extra knowledge and gaining a lot more grey hairs I’m not sure why I’m doing it.

This masters is a Masters of Education (Special Education) so it has been valuable and I’ve learnt a lot of things that I have been able to put into place in my work, and I’ve enjoyed it, but I have also done some completely ridiculous assignments, ones that required lesson plans that followed the lecturer’s layout, so what could have been written in half a page took 3 pages and then the lesson plans didn’t count in the word limits, so a 1,000 work essay was actually more like 5,000 words and about 25 pages.  This masters is also 16 subjects long, so at the end of this year I’ll only be half way through it!!!  That’s when I get the results of the last two essays, the one I submitted a few minutes ago and the one that is due by Monday night.

After that I may actually be able to come home, think about not studying, think about not reading about learning through play, deafness or blindess which I’ve been thinking about this semester and actually think about getting ready to move to Country Town 2.0 and getting ready to leave Country Town in 6 weeks…it’s all coming too soon!!!

Leave a Reply

According To Abby

Abby Gilmore

Untidy Heidi

Naturally untidy, just trying to keep it all together!

allysonkathleen

Feeling and looking your absolute best!

CoCoHunni

My journey to become a happier, healthier me

Adventures In Onederland

"I can't go back to yesterday because I was a different person then"

Biblio Gets Fit

I love books and PF

Points to Skinny

Helping you meal plan to reach your weight goal

Miss Chardy

Laughter in the Outback

WHATTHETEACHERWEARS

'Who says you can't be fabulous between 9 & 5'

Tales of an Almost Teacher

Student Teacher Today: Superhero Tomorrow

This Mid 30s Life

It's often silly, sometimes fun and occasionally a bit boring if I'm honest.

Sweets.Eats.Treats

yummy desserts. easy meals. lazy crafternoons.

Through the THICK of it

Working towards health and happiness :)

The Life of an Amateur Country Girl

City girl adjusting to the country life.

An Education in Domestication

Two Educators Learning about Life

Journey to After

Never again will I be a "before"!

