Moving on up and moving on out

The daily prompt says Tell us about your first day at something — your first day of school, first day of work, first day living on your own, first day blogging, first day as a parent, whatever.

My first day living on my own…holy heck that was an interesting experience.  I grew up in normal every day run of the mill suburbia, had a bit of time in my first ever version on Country Town, moved around a fair bit, managed to go to seven different schools over the years, went to university  and lived with my dad during those four years…then I escaped!!!

I think escaped is the right word for this context!  I escaped suburbia, I haven’t lived in suburbia for more than a couple of months at a time (and that’s only been a couple of times) since January 4th, 1999.  I escaped capital cities, I escaped huge shopping centres, I escaped traffic, I got a job and up and left.

I didn’t do the normal finish university, get a teaching job around the corner, in the next suburb, in the same city…no I moved to a cattle station 3,000km (1,864 miles) away from all my friends and all my family and this was when there was no mobile phone reception there (there  probably still isn’t), there was no internet connection there (there probably is now), there was no such thing as Facebook or Twitter and the only ways to reach my family were either through the pay phone, which required coins, or to write a letter…and the mail was delivered once a week.

The cattle station was 100km (62 miles) from the nearest town.  Getting from my family to there required three plane flights…each plane getting smaller and smaller…actually it should have been three plane flights, but being January and being in the north of Australia it was the middle of wet season so when I got to the nearest town there was a message saying the station manager couldn’t pick me up as the road was too wet and I would be flown in the next day…um okay…queue some internal frantic panic.  Thankfully a teacher from the school in town was sitting next to me on the flight and she said I could stay with her and she knew the pilot for the next morning.

So my first day living on my own was spent travelling and getting nowhere in a sense, I didn’t even get to my destination.

The next morning there’s an even smaller plane, a 4 seater!!!  That was bad enough, it got a million times worse when the pilot said, “Watch your feet love you might touch the pedals.”  SAY WHAT!!!  Holy crap I moved my feet that quickly.  Then a while later the pilot said, “Can you see where you’re living?”  All I saw was green mixed with water…I didn’t see any sign of human life until we finally got lower and I could see two houses and a few other buildings.  Then to land on a tiny little home-made runway, in an empty paddock after going only a few metres over the fence, oh dear god I was seriously worried and out of my comfort zone then.

Things have changed a bit in the last almost 15 years…I’m still escaped from suburbia, but it was a huge first day!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. My.Vivid.Visions | Daily Prompt: First! – Day at Work
  2. Daily Prompt: First! | Under the Monkey Tree
  3. Queen of the universe for a week | Now Have At It!
  4. away from home | Inkbelle
  5. The great obscurian novel | Beth Byrnes
  6. Daily Prompt : First ! | My Extraordinary Everyday Life
  7. It’s not first or last it’s whole Journey | મન ની વાત
  8. First Day Back | Mary Angelini Photography
  9. What’s Funny About Not Going To Kindergarten? | The Jittery Goat
  10. Daily Prompt: First! | veryvanessalynn
  11. Home. Sweet Home | Nature Activities
  12. Loading film into Zenit-8 camera | Bright Moments Catcher
  13. my first day as your mommy | wannabepoet
  14. Good walk | Nature Activities
  15. First day in WP (First Poem Posted) | ⓜ∈t•ⓐRVh∈∈•n✪iⓐ
  16. our bodies are made | y
  17. Pretty lady | Tess Arts
  18. Bottles | Tess Arts
  19. First | Mara Eastern’s Personal Blog
  20. “First!” | Relax
  21. Shopino of Belgorod Region, Russia. January 8, 2012 | Bright Moments Catcher
  22. First day post attack | alienorajt
  23. [Round Two O.C.T.O.B.E.R XXX] TBT pre-empt: “First!” | noah121weiss
  24. My First Day as a Submissive | submissivelysecret
  25. Always First | Tony’s Texts
  26. Daily Prompt/ First time seeing a Praying Mantis | sweetwildflower
  27. Да будет свет! |
  28. A good story | Life is great
  29. Ordering a drink in the buff… | thoughtsofrkh
  30. Daily Prompt: First! | Being a Huntress
  31. FIRST TAIL-COAT | Standing Ovation, Seated
  32. Hi Dad, it’s Marty! #6 | Neva Samaki
  33. A special day | Motherhood and Beyond
  34. Dawning of My Blog | tuckedintoacorner
  35. Daily Prompt: First! | The Story of a Guy
  36. Some firsts are better forgotten | Dear Yolandi
  37. Daily Prompt: First! | The Fountain
  38. Daily Prompt: First! | My Atheist Blog
  39. Prints on the Shore (Beginning) | photo potpourri
  40. My first time doing “public speaking” | I’m just Super Saiyan
  41. First Day of School | A mom’s blog
  42. how i found my visual handwriting | Between the lines
  43. [DAILY PROMPT] First. | hellofathia
  44. DP: First! | The Deepwater Goldfish
  45. Today’s that day. Daily Prompt: First! | Reinvention of Mama
  46. I am a writer | myself through writing
  47. In the Beginning… | Haiku By Ku
  48. Daily Prompt: First Qigong Lesson | 61 Musings
  49. Trifecta of Naughtiness | sayanything
  50. 1st Grade Seating | Kansa Muse
  51. Daily Prompt: First! | Awl and Scribe
  52. The Firsts….. | contemplatorme
  53. My First Time | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  54. Daily Prompt: First! | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  55. One | Fruit Salad
  56. It All Started With Love | Prayers and Promises
  57. To Hear The Poem of Creation | I Didn’t Just Wake Up This Morning with a Craving
  58. Flying Solo | Callejas Thinks
  59. A Happy Birthday To Me | Flowers and Breezes
  60. Stuck In The Middle | Just Visiting This Planet
  61. First day, first friend | From Five to Fifty
  62. DAILY PROMPT: ON A FIRST DAY WHEN I WAS SO SMALL … | SERENDIPITY
  63. The First day | thinkerscap
  64. A New Beginning to an Old Town (dailyprompt) | Through Finger Tips
  65. Mirror mirror in the papers . . . | The Visionary Hollow
  66. First Day Of School After A Traumatic Head Injury | Fish Of Gold
  67. The first time I met you | viver para contar
  68. Peter Pan or Miley Cyrus ? | the truth should be free
  69. In the Beginning….(wp daily prompt) | Daily Observations
  70. Angry Birds and the Mists of Memory | Rob’s Surf Report
  71. Daily Prompt: First! | A Little Sip of Lemmon-ade
  72. My First | Real Life Co.
  73. My very first day | Processing the life
  74. My First Day at Public School | cowcrzy
  75. Untitled | The Magic Black Book
  76. First Trip | Memoirs of an Amiss Angel
  77. A Mother’s Love | My Bipolar Life
  78. Wonder Wednesday Presents: HALLOWEEEEEEN DANCE PARTY!!!!!! | Light Words
  79. First minutes as a mother… | alienorajt
  80. When I held her | The Corned Beef Hashtag
  81. A First Time for Anything and Everything | cagedbutterfly1
  82. DAILY PROMPT: FIRST | thoughts and entanglements
  83. Daily Prompt: First-The Beginnings of a Surfer | Wahine Wednesdays
  84. First Day, She Helped! | 365 Days of Thank You
  85. The First Time To Hear . . . It’s A Girl! | meanderedwanderings
  86. First! Transformed Instantly into a Mother | mother of nine9

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Angry Birds and the Mists of Memory | Rob's Surf Report
  2. Trackback: Daily Prompt: First! | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  3. Trackback: The First Time I Participated in the WordPress Daily Prompt | Cheri Speak
  4. Trackback: A good story | Life is great
  5. Trackback: of violence | Anawnimiss
  6. Trackback: First Love | In Pursuit of Rainbow
  7. Trackback: Daily Post…First | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Leave a Reply

According To Abby

Abby Gilmore

Untidy Heidi

Naturally untidy, just trying to keep it all together!

allysonkathleen

Feeling and looking your absolute best!

CoCoHunni

My journey to become a happier, healthier me

Adventures In Onederland

"I can't go back to yesterday because I was a different person then"

Biblio Gets Fit

I love books and PF

Points to Skinny

Helping you meal plan to reach your weight goal

Miss Chardy

Laughter in the Outback

WHATTHETEACHERWEARS

'Who says you can't be fabulous between 9 & 5'

Tales of an Almost Teacher

Student Teacher Today: Superhero Tomorrow

This Mid 30s Life

It's often silly, sometimes fun and occasionally a bit boring if I'm honest.

Sweets.Eats.Treats

yummy desserts. easy meals. lazy crafternoons.

Through the THICK of it

Working towards health and happiness :)

The Life of an Amateur Country Girl

City girl adjusting to the country life.

An Education in Domestication

Two Educators Learning about Life

Journey to After

Never again will I be a "before"!

