Habit breaking

Today’s daily prompt says Tell us about a habit you’d like to break. Is there any way it can play a positive role in your life?

Does anxiety count as a habit???

If it does then I would gladly break up with that habit…break up with the super dose of anxiety and nerves that come before getting on a plane, the dose of nerves and anxiety that come before public speaking (not speaking in front of the cherubs, that’s easy, speaking in front of adults, well that’s a whole different story), the dose of nerves and anxiety that came on Friday before my interview…the anxiety that woke me at 3:45am and gave me a constant need to pee and had my palms sweating and hands shaking up until the phone rang and then had me feel like I needed a nap after getting off the phone.

Sure a bit of nerves is good, a bit of anxiety is good, ensuring you’re prepared and ready for what comes ahead is great, but there is good anxiety and there is over the top stupidly ridiculous anxiety that people who have never experienced it think is something that they can solve with a compliment or telling you to calm down…

Well here’s a news flash, when I’m in a full blown panic attack don’t tell me to breathe deeply, don’t tell me to breathe slowly, don’t tell me to calm down.  I’m damn well attempting all those things, while feeling like I’m having a heart attack and hyperventilating and shaking and crying and completely freaking out.

Here’s another news flash…when I say I need some space and I need some time away from everyone and everything then damn well let me.  It’s because my brain has hit overload and it needs some time to settle away from the prying eyes of the world, some time to get off the world’s fastest rollercoaster as that’s where it is.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Broken – I doubt before I believe | Now Have At It!
  2. The Needle Meeting | The Magic Black Book
  3. On Waiting…Again… | soletusknow
  4. Abusive relationships | alienorajt
  5. Pumpkins Gone Bad | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  6. Breaking The Daily Prompt Habit | The Jittery Goat
  7. S. Thomas Summers | Daily Prompt: Breakdown (Things I’ve Failed to Notice #1)
  8. Daily Prompt Challenge ~ “Broken” | soletusknow
  9. Chatter – The story of two sides | Neva Samaki
  10. Breakdown | Life Confusions
  11. Daily post: Habits? What habits? | helen meikle’s scribblefest
  12. Waiting to break | crookedeyebrows
  13. Daily Prompt: Breakdown | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  14. That Breakdown | The Magic Black Book
  15. Beautifully Broken and all the things in between… | Passionate Dreaming
  16. Daily Prompt: Breakdown | Awl and Scribe
  17. Not Enough Sleep | Flowers and Breezes
  18. Favorite Habit | Lost in Adeline’s
  19. Breakdown- More Pop Culture References | Blue Loft
  20. Bad habits? Got em. Do they matter? Not so sure. | RPMAS
  21. Daily Prompt: Breakdown | Crow Arrow, Inc.
  22. Raccoons! | Haiku By Ku
  23. Daily Prompt: Hard Habit to Break | My Atheist Blog
  24. Rushing | maunderingsofaninja
  25. Broken | Better Than Reality
  26. Why fix what ain’t broke? | Liquorstore Bear
  27. Daily Prompt: Breakdown – BROKEN | Ord i Bild
  28. Daily Prompt: Breakdown | Thirty, Start, Go!
  29. #firstworldproblems: Crappy Shows and Inner Conflict | The Otter in my Jotter
  30. Daily Prompt: Break The Bad Habits | DeafGuy Blog
  31. Daily Prompt: OLD, BROKEN BUT NOT FORGOT | SERENDIPITY
  32. Breaking the Habit(s) | The life of T
  33. Funny you should ask. « Welcome to Forgotonia
  34. My Need For Clean Denied | momasteblog
  35. Breaking The Habit | The Nameless One
  36. Broken | nanopod: hybrid studio
  37. For the “broken” « Subh Dasgupta’s Blog
  38. The 3 stages | A mom’s blog
  39. Procrastination – A bad Habit | Indira’s Blog
  40. My Circle of Comfort | Wiley’s Wisdom
  41. Daily Prompt: Breakdown | Mending | Silver Wonderland
  42. Daily Prompt: Breakdown | Steve Says….
  43. Breaking Down Old Habits | The Bottom of a Bottle
  44. Poetry: Procrastination Broken Poem | Wise Counsel
  45. Discards | CurTales
  46. Too Much Smoke Will Kill You | Just Visiting This Planet
  47. Hard Habit To Break | Bright Tuesday
  48. Procrastination | djgarcia94
5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Breakdown: Broken Down | Khana's Web
  2. Trackback: Daily Prompt: Breakdown | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  3. Trackback: Rob's Surf Report
  4. Trackback: BECOMING | hastywords
  5. Trackback: Bad Habits… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Leave a Reply

Oxford Australia blog

For the love of learning

According To Abby

Abby Gilmore

Untidy Heidi

Naturally untidy, just trying to keep it all together!

allysonkathleen

Feeling and looking your absolute best!

CoCoHunni

My journey to become a happier, healthier me

Adventures In Onederland

"I can't go back to yesterday because I was a different person then"

Biblio Gets Fit

I love books and PF

Points to Skinny

Helping you meal plan to reach your weight goal

Miss Chardy

Laughter in the Outback

WHATTHETEACHERWEARS

'Who says you can't be fabulous between 9 & 5'

Tales of an Almost Teacher

Student Teacher Today: Superhero Tomorrow

This Mid 30s Life

It's often silly, sometimes fun and occasionally a bit boring if I'm honest.

Sweets.Eats.Treats

yummy desserts. easy meals. lazy crafternoons.

Through the THICK of it

Working towards health and happiness :)

The Life of an Amateur Country Girl

City girl adjusting to the country life.

An Education in Domestication

Two Educators Learning about Life

