Home Sweet Home

The daily prompt is when you’re away from home, what person, thing, or place do you miss the most?

For some many people home is where their family is…well that’s all well and good except I moved away from my family on January 4th, 1999 to live in a multitude of Country Towns and work in a multitude of schools in Country Towns as well as a couple of years overseas and my family don’t live in the houses they lived in then so their homes are not home for me, they’re places I go for a holiday.

So I’ve come to the decision that home is where I live for the time I am there…so currently Country Town is home, when I leave Country Town, the next place will become home after a while.  I might not have any direct family here in Country Town, but I’ve got my closest friend and her family has taken me into their family and by her family I mean the whole extended family and I’ve got a few of the cherubs who have taken me on as their school mum and they often greet me in the morning when they get off the bus with a hug as well as a hug before they get on it to go home and their mum knows this and has seen this and we both acknowledge they’ve pretty much adopted me into the family.  It’s been the same in each version of Country Town I’ve lived in.

However, when I’m away from my tiny little donga and away from the noisy croaking frogs and the noisy bower birds I miss the serenity that comes with living in a house on my own.  I miss that I can do what I want, when I want.  If I don’t want to have dinner I don’t have to as there’s me and only me to worry about.  If I want to spend Sunday on the couch in front of the tv wearing pyjamas all day long I can, I can’t do that when I’m away, I can’t do that when I’m in a hotel whilst on holidays or staying with my family.  I like the fact that I am essentially completely independent and when I’m at home if the dishes aren’t done they’ll still be there later in the day or the next morning and I can only blame myself for it.  It’s how I am.  I don’t miss this tiny little house, other than for it’s peace and quiet and that I can close the door and hide in it if I so choose.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Clutches | The Magic Black Book
  2. Dogs Feel At Home | The Ambitious Drifter
  3. Daily Prompt: Home Sweet Home | Awl and Scribe
  4. I don’t wanna miss a thing (but I do) | Neva Samaki
  5. Where My Heart Is | thelifeofagirlsite
  6. Where the Heart Lies | tinypurpleme
  7. Daily Prompt: HOME SWEET VIRTUAL HOME | SERENDIPITY
  8. Gentle Hills and Fields | Reinvention of Mama
  9. Daily Prompt: Home « Vicariously Poetic
  10. The Sick Story | Mind of a Mouse
  11. It’s almost, but not quite… | thoughtsofrkh
  12. Daily Prompt: Home | VNA Images
  13. Yoga Class | I’m just Super Saiyan
  14. Home is where I put my hat… | Kate Murray
  15. Confessions from the Cracked Pot (Part 3) | JC Bride ~
  16. Cornish Lavender: fiction | alienorajt
  17. Daily Prompt: Home Sweet Home | Whimsical Eclecticist
  18. Daily Prompt: Home Sweet Home | Steve Says….
  19. Under the Moon at Home | Misifusa’s Blog
  20. Home Sweet Home | mostlytrueramblings
  21. Dublin, Ireland | Daily Prompt: Home Sweet Home | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis and Me
  22. Home is where heart is | sylphontheloose
  23. Daily Prompt: Home Sweet Home | Myas – A Tragic Lady But No TB
  24. Food sweet Food | Life Confusions
  25. Why Home Sweet Home Is The Best Place To Be! | The Political and Social Chaos Blog
  26. Saying Goodbye Is Like Drowning (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat
  27. Home – Post a Day Photo Challenge | Tidbits n Treasures
  28. When Birds Come To Roost ‘Ere | Spirit Lights The Way
  29. Daily Prompt: Home Sweet Home | Wordz on a Page
  30. Daily Prompt: Home Sweet Home | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  31. Home Is Where The Jobs Are | mutatiomagistra
  32. Missing Home | Flowers and Breezes
  33. World War One, Coincidences and Family Birthdays | DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society
  34. Daily Prompt; Home Sweet Home | terry1954
  35. Home Sweet Home | SimplySage
  36. What’s to miss when I’m gone? | Rob’s Surf Report
  37. Home Sick: flash fiction | Motherhood and Beyond
  38. Home Sweet Home- Daily Prompt | The Rider
  39. Daily Prompt: Home Sweet Home | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  40. Please get off my bed | The Otter in my Jotter
  41. Daily Prompt: Home Sweet Home 2 « Every day adventures in Asia (mostly)
  42. Daily Prompt: Away Sweet Away | My Atheist Blog
  43. Donna’s home tour of the flat | We Live In A Flat
  44. What is home? | Tales of a slightly stressed Mother!
  45. This place I call home | Madhura’s Musings
  46. Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Sand | Under the Monkey Tree
  47. Daily Prompt: Home Sweet Home | James’s Journal
  48. Home Sweet Home ♥ | Perhaps yes, perhaps no. Exactly? I don’t know.
  49. Not All Who Wander Are Lost . . . | meanderedwanderings
  50. Psst…I Need Your Help? | Cheri Speak
  51. Home Sweet Home | The Nameless One
  52. Daily Prompt: Home Sweet Home | Chicomallorca’s Blog
  53. The Conundrum | What’s In The Pot : Farewell
  54. Where Does The Red Brick Road Go? | Just Visiting This Planet
  55. Where the Heart Is | Real Life Co.
  56. Daily Prompt: Home Sweet Home | Moments Thru Lens
  57. Home Sweet Home | jane1davis
  58. Daily Prompt: Home Sweet Home | My Heaven | Silver Wonderland
  59. Home Sweet Home | My thoughts on a page.
  60. The Hills are Alive… | A mom’s blog
  61. Daily Prompt: Home Sweet Home | Vagabond
  62. YOU MISS YOUR LIFE | crookedeyebrows
  63. Family | Life is great
  64. People prints | lemon lime follies
  65. The Joy Of Going Home | ~xoxo, msL
  66. Beneath the Coconut Trees | Barefoot on Rainy Days
  67. Daily Prompt: Home Sweet Home is where these misfits are | emilykkeyes
  68. Home sweet heart | Le Drake Noir
  69. Daily Prompt: How Do I Miss Thee? Let Me Count the Ways | One Starving Activist
  70. Not sure where “home” is now | djgarcia94
  71. Daily Prompt: Home Sweet Home | DeafGuy Blog
  72. Daily Prompt: Home Sweet Home | A Hedonistic Wander
  73. Homemade Happiness | Bright Tuesday
  74. Home Sweet Home | ashwitaashok
  75. Home is where the stomach is! | luvsiesous
  76. A quiet day at home | The Silver Leaf Journal
  77. Home is where the heart is | breezes at dawn
  78. Daily Prompt: Home Sweet Home | MissEmilyMarie23
  79. Home Sweet Hope | Mary Angelini Photography
  80. Act 6, Scene 2: Cosmos | Romance Without Words
  81. Daily Prompt: Home Sweet Home | Undecided Answer
  82. Daily Prompt 10.19.13 | The Wife Life
  83. Where is Home?.. | Sunshine Intentions
  84. Sanctuary: I love my home | Chasing Rabbit Holes

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Dublin, Ireland | Daily Prompt: Home Sweet Home | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis and Me
  2. teeceecounsel
    Oct 20, 2013 @ 06:02:14

    Lovely post! I love the way you define home. There’s always a lot to miss, if you are far away from a comfortable place or state that you can call home!
    I love your concept. I responded to the prompt with a poem. You could check it out. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Happy Fall Break! « kodi.
  4. Trackback: Daily Prompt: Home Sweet Home | Processing the life
  5. Trackback: Daily Prompt: Home Sweet Home | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Leave a Reply

According To Abby

Abby Gilmore

Untidy Heidi

Naturally untidy, just trying to keep it all together!

allysonkathleen

Feeling and looking your absolute best!

CoCoHunni

My journey to become a happier, healthier me

Adventures In Onederland

"I can't go back to yesterday because I was a different person then"

Biblio Gets Fit

I love books and PF

Points to Skinny

Helping you meal plan to reach your weight goal

Miss Chardy

Laughter in the Outback

WHATTHETEACHERWEARS

'Who says you can't be fabulous between 9 & 5'

Tales of an Almost Teacher

Student Teacher Today: Superhero Tomorrow

This Mid 30s Life

It's often silly, sometimes fun and occasionally a bit boring if I'm honest.

Sweets.Eats.Treats

yummy desserts. easy meals. lazy crafternoons.

Through the THICK of it

Working towards health and happiness :)

The Life of an Amateur Country Girl

City girl adjusting to the country life.

An Education in Domestication

Two Educators Learning about Life

Journey to After

Never again will I be a "before"!

