The menagerie that is Country Town

Country Town is no shortage to animals being around…it is in the country after all.

There’s often kangaroos around…be them alive or dead…as I mentioned previously when I had the misfortunate experience of a dead kangaroo being in my yard.  There’s often kangaroos bouncing around, it’s not unusual to go to work in the morning and them be in the yard and have to yell at the cherubs not to chase them as they’ll scare them.  This morning when I left to go to the next town just before 7am two huge kangaroos were bounding across the yard at work and even earlier at about 4:30am a kangaroo bounded into the outside wall of the bedroom, they quite often get chased by dogs.

I’ve got bower birds that have two nests just outside my bedroom window and oh my goodness they’re loud…especially when they are young…but heaven forbid I do anything to the nest, it’s well known in Country Town.

There’s no shortage of geckos and lizards around, and definitely no shortage of geckos racing along the walls in the house at times.  They don’t harm much so they’re no issue.  Lizards on the other hand, they can scare the bejesus out of you when you don’t see them racing through the yard to start with so you’re not sure if it’s a lizard or snake.  I’ve got a few lizards living in the yard at the moment and thankfully they’re fairly small, there have been a few big ones that lived at work and caused all kinds of entertainment for the cherubs.  As for snakes…oh my dear lord I’m terrified.  Thankfully I’ve seen very few over the years, there was one in the playground a few years ago, but it wasn’t too huge and I still freaked out.

There is definitely no shortage of mosquitoes, to the extent that the entire town gets fogged twice a week with an insecticde during the wet season when they are at their worse.  Not that it seems to do a huge amount as they’re always around then.  Along with marchflies at this time of year and their bites are a lot worse and a lot more painful than the mozzie bites are.

Frogs are another member of the menagerie, and when they start making noise they are loud, loud, loud…and when a frog screams…oh my dear god they can squeal.  If only they wouldn’t live in my toilet I would be so much happier.  There is nothing like having to check the toilet bowl for frogs before you sit down and that includes checking under the seat in case they are hiding there.

Worse than the frogs are cane toads, they are a menace to society and have made their way slowly across from Queensland to Country Town and beyond.

Then there’s the crocs, thankfully I don’t have to deal with them all that often…the bonus of not being an outdoorsy type.

 

Leave a Reply

Oxford Australia blog

For the love of learning

According To Abby

Abby Gilmore

Untidy Heidi

Naturally untidy, just trying to keep it all together!

allysonkathleen

Feeling and looking your absolute best!

CoCoHunni

My journey to become a happier, healthier me

Adventures In Onederland

"I can't go back to yesterday because I was a different person then"

Biblio Gets Fit

I love books and PF

Points to Skinny

Helping you meal plan to reach your weight goal

Miss Chardy

Laughter in the Outback

WHATTHETEACHERWEARS

'Who says you can't be fabulous between 9 & 5'

Tales of an Almost Teacher

Student Teacher Today: Superhero Tomorrow

This Mid 30s Life

It's often silly, sometimes fun and occasionally a bit boring if I'm honest.

Sweets.Eats.Treats

yummy desserts. easy meals. lazy crafternoons.

Through the THICK of it

Working towards health and happiness :)

The Life of an Amateur Country Girl

City girl adjusting to the country life.

An Education in Domestication

Two Educators Learning about Life

