Cooking capers

I’ve been on holidays now for a week and a half…add to that the four days I had off work when I had no voice…so I haven’t been to work for 16 days now and have another 4 days off until I’m back at work next Monday…which means after the virus there’s been time to cook, time to clean and throw things, time to apply for jobs and time for studying.

It’s also been very very hot!!! Today Country Town had a low of  27.8C (82F) and a high of 42.7C (109F)!!! I mean seriously since when is 27.8 a minimum temperature.  Anyway I digress…

A few months ago I bought an electric pressure cooker and I love it!!!

Kambrook Pressure Express Pressure Cooker

I’ve made numerous things in it…all without following any recipe, just making up my own as I go.

Green chicken curry was done the day I bought it…loved it!!

Honey and soy chicken…seriously nice!

Spaghetti bolognaise…not the way I would normally do it, but I browned the mince and cooked the onion first in the pressure cooker (it has a saute function on it) and then put in the sauce etc as well as the uncooked pasta and it all cooked together…pretty good and so easy.

Beef pot roast…I’ve never had a pot roast in my life, but it was seriously good.

Mashed potatoes…okay I cooked the potatoes in the pressure cooker then mashed them, but oh my god!!! The best potatoes ever!!!!

Savoury mince…which I then put with the mashed potatoes and some cheese to do shepards pie as I had been craving it.

Chicken and sweetcorn soup…tonight’s dinner…yes I know I just said how hot it’s been, but I’ve been craving chicken and sweet corn soup and had eveything that I needed in the pantry and fridge.  So good and so, so simple.

I’ve also recently bought what I’m calling the mothership mixer…it was on sale through Catch of the Day so I could justify the $259 it cost, even the $55 delivery cost as it’s meant to cost $699!!!  It comes complete with a meat grinder, pasta maker and blender.

Singer Professional Stand Mixer

It arrived the other week while I was sick, so I took it out of the box, but didn’t give it a test run straight away.  However, I gave the mothership mixer it’s maiden journey on Monday night, without following a recipe…a first for me.

I decided to make a black forest cake, with the cherries put into the cake mixture before I baked it.  Then I finished making it on Tuesday and I have to say I was seriously impressed with my effort as I cut it in half, covered both cut parts with cherry brandy, made dark chocolate ganache and put it in the middle, on the top and all around the cake.  Not bad if I say so myself!!!

 

Leave a Reply

According To Abby

Abby Gilmore

Untidy Heidi

Naturally untidy, just trying to keep it all together!

allysonkathleen

Feeling and looking your absolute best!

CoCoHunni

My journey to become a happier, healthier me

Adventures In Onederland

"I can't go back to yesterday because I was a different person then"

Biblio Gets Fit

I love books and PF

Points to Skinny

Helping you meal plan to reach your weight goal

Miss Chardy

Laughter in the Outback

WHATTHETEACHERWEARS

'Who says you can't be fabulous between 9 & 5'

Tales of an Almost Teacher

Student Teacher Today: Superhero Tomorrow

This Mid 30s Life

It's often silly, sometimes fun and occasionally a bit boring if I'm honest.

Sweets.Eats.Treats

yummy desserts. easy meals. lazy crafternoons.

Through the THICK of it

Working towards health and happiness :)

The Life of an Amateur Country Girl

City girl adjusting to the country life.

An Education in Domestication

Two Educators Learning about Life

Journey to After

Never again will I be a "before"!

