Addiction…

Today’s daily prompt is all about addiction…Have you ever been addicted to anything, or worried that you were? Have you ever spent too much time and effort on something that was a distraction from your real goals? Tell us about it.

I haven’t been addicted to things in the traditional sense…but I’ve had to go through my best friend and his addictions and it hasn’t always been pretty, more so when I’ve had the phone calls for money because he can’t pay the rent or the electricity bill or can’t buy groceries and hasn’t got anything for my god-children to have for dinner…nothing like a phone call like that to pull at the heart-strings.  Nothing like a phone call like that to make it so hard to say no.  Sometimes it is just easier to not answer the phone in such situations, thank god for caller ID, or to not see the Facebook messages, thank god they also come through on email so it makes it look like you haven’t read them when you have.

To see what my best friend has gone through in his bad times, right from when I first met him 11 years ago and he was young and dumb (it’s the only way to describe what was happening back then) wasn’t fun.  To have to be there through the suicide attempts and then to be further away physically (after I moved towns) through the down times, the up times, the jail and court times were almost impossible.  To get the late and night phone call from his mother to say he was in jail almost broke me into a million pieces…but to get the very early morning, completely unexpected phone call from him when he was out of jail a number of months later had the same effect and caused a lot of tears of relief.

In saying that through all the drug issues that he’s gone through at times I feel like the minority in the world when I say that I’ve never tried drugs, I’ve never even tried a cigarette and never plan to.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Girl Taking Photo of Herself Through a Mirror « Inside my glitching mind
  2. Addicted… | The Rider
  3. addiction | hitting a brick wall
  4. Daily Prompt: Can’t Get Enough When I’m With You | Awl and Scribe
  5. Daily Propmt: Can’t Get Enough | Under the Monkey Tree
  6. Can’t Get Enough – FM Addiction | Geek Ergo Sum
  7. What it feels like to be addicted | The Magic Black Book
  8. ლCaFF-Eine BuzZzZzლ | mët•aRVhëë•n✪ia
  9. I’m A Daily Promptaholic | The Jittery Goat
  10. buttered | yi-ching lin photography
  11. Daily Prompt: Can’t Get Enough
  12. Addiction? Oh yeah « RPMAS
  13. Celebrate Good Times. | gypsy thoughts ..
  14. Daily Prompt: Can’t Get Enough #photography | ThisCornerOfTheWoods
  15. I do hope there’s a rehab for singleness | JC Bride ~
  16. On Facing Harsh Realities | The Magic Black Book
  17. My Toy Box | Kate Murray
  18. Only ever so slightly addictive me | thoughtsofrkh
  19. Addicted to ‘love’ | alienorajt
  20. Daily Post: “Can’t Get Enough” | The Adventures of Rain Dance Megan
  21. Can’t Get Enough | The River Mom
  22. of course i’m an addict | wannabepoet
  23. Add diction – A very short post | Neva Samaki
  24. Big Girl Now But Still Hungry | Virginia Views
  25. Can’t Get Enough | Motherhood and Beyond
  26. Alas, stopped daydreaming | crookedeyebrows
  27. Daily Prompt: Can’t Get Enough | Wordz on a Page
  28. My Coffee Addiction-Peet’s is Poo | Mac’s Blog
  29. Daily Prompt: Can’t Get Enough « Mama Bear Musings

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Daily Prompt: Can’t Get Enough | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  2. Trackback: Things I can’t get enough of… | Processing the life
  3. Trackback: Things I can’t get enough of… | Processing the life
  4. Trackback: Dollars, Dirhams & Pounds | A mom's blog
  5. Trackback: Surfer Rob’s outlook on addiction | Rob's Surf Report
  6. wannabepoet
    Oct 10, 2013 @ 18:53:56

    I’ve never tried drugs; sorry I lie… I have had 2 puffs of that ‘special smoke’ when I was 17 and ‘smoked’ cigarettes for about 1 month in high school, because it was the ‘in’ thing to do. I never inhaled though as I always coughed and spluttered, so I must have looked like a right fool! I have come close, once to doing cocaine; I had it lined up in front of me, cut and ready to snort. I said no. I had asked for it, but when it came to actually doing it, I no longer wanted to. I have the occasional drink (like once every 2 months!) but narcotics just do not interest me at all. I’ve seen what addiction of drugs can do to a person, and I do not want that for myself.

    Great post 🙂

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Cheering section | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Leave a Reply

According To Abby

Abby Gilmore

Untidy Heidi

Naturally untidy, just trying to keep it all together!

allysonkathleen

Feeling and looking your absolute best!

CoCoHunni

My journey to become a happier, healthier me

Adventures In Onederland

"I can't go back to yesterday because I was a different person then"

Biblio Gets Fit

I love books and PF

Points to Skinny

Helping you meal plan to reach your weight goal

Miss Chardy

Laughter in the Outback

WHATTHETEACHERWEARS

'Who says you can't be fabulous between 9 & 5'

Tales of an Almost Teacher

Student Teacher Today: Superhero Tomorrow

This Mid 30s Life

It's often silly, sometimes fun and occasionally a bit boring if I'm honest.

Sweets.Eats.Treats

yummy desserts. easy meals. lazy crafternoons.

Through the THICK of it

Working towards health and happiness :)

The Life of an Amateur Country Girl

City girl adjusting to the country life.

An Education in Domestication

Two Educators Learning about Life

Journey to After

Never again will I be a "before"!

