Hawthorn won the grand final!!!

Oh my goodness!!!

That’s the only way to accurately describe yesterday.  Talk about sagas and dramas going on and that was just in Country Town and it was all to do with the football.  I did everything that I didn’t do last year on grand final day.

Last year I was nervous so I baked…this year…no chance of baking.

Last year I had a drink before the game…this year…I waited until the third quarter.

Last year I had a voice…this year…yeah well we all know how much of a lack of voice I have, it got to about 70% yesterday and I didn’t even yell or cheer loudly during the game and I’m back to about 30% today.

I went to my friend’s house and we had the one moment that reflected last year, the tv didn’t pick up the channel we needed.  No worries someone climbed up on the roof to adjust the aerial.  Finally we had the channel right as the Dockers ran onto the ground.

All good for the 1st quarter, I tipped the first goal kicker.  Thank you Jack Gunston!!!!

Jack Gunston

Then in the 2nd quarter the wind picked up in Country Town and out the front of the house it was all brown and red, to another side pitch black, to another blue…yes it was all sorts of weather out in the distance.  Branches were falling off trees onto clotheslines, plastic chairs outside being knocked over, all a bit dramatic, but that was only the start.

Then…2 minutes before half time the power went off for the whole of 30 seconds, it came back on but the tv had no reception on any channel.  Another friend texts and she had no tv either, that’s okay I thought as it was almost half time.

The third quarter is due to start and there’s still no tv, then about 5 minutes in it comes back on, except there’s vision but no sound…oh dear god, I was grateful for the vision, but still.  Finally about another 5 minutes later the sound came back on.

Three quarter time and it was all a tad too close for my liking, 10 points is not a good margin.

Thankfully though Hawthorn held on and won!!!! More amazingly I managed to not cry when we won, I was close when they showed Brendan Whitecross a couple of minutes before the final siren.  The poor thing did his ACL in last year’s semi final and had to miss the preliminary final and grand final loss, came back during the season and then did his ACL in the preliminary final last weekend, had surgery the other day and had to miss the grand final and will miss a good chunk of next season.  But at least he was there to experience the day and share it with the team.

Brendan Whitecross and Cyril Rioli

 

Got to love this moment…Buddy Franklin and Josh Gibson!

 

What to say about this??? Two brothers, one in each team, Stephen from Fremantle after the loss and Bradley from Hawthorn after the win!

 

This sums up how much a premiership means, especially after last year’s loss…Josh Gibson

 

Who needs a snow angel when you can have a confetti angel??? Got to love Ben Stratton!!!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Oxford Australia blog

For the love of learning

According To Abby

Abby Gilmore

Untidy Heidi

Naturally untidy, just trying to keep it all together!

allysonkathleen

Feeling and looking your absolute best!

CoCoHunni

My journey to become a happier, healthier me

Adventures In Onederland

"I can't go back to yesterday because I was a different person then"

Biblio Gets Fit

I love books and PF

Points to Skinny

Helping you meal plan to reach your weight goal

Miss Chardy

Laughter in the Outback

WHATTHETEACHERWEARS

'Who says you can't be fabulous between 9 & 5'

Tales of an Almost Teacher

Student Teacher Today: Superhero Tomorrow

This Mid 30s Life

It's often silly, sometimes fun and occasionally a bit boring if I'm honest.

Sweets.Eats.Treats

yummy desserts. easy meals. lazy crafternoons.

Through the THICK of it

Working towards health and happiness :)

The Life of an Amateur Country Girl

City girl adjusting to the country life.

An Education in Domestication

Two Educators Learning about Life

