Daily Prompt: Celebrate Good Times

Today’s daily prompt is about receiving some wonderful, improbably, hoped-for good news and how do you celebrate.

Well I’m not really a song and dance around in public reaction type of person.  However I have been known to do a happy dance on my own with nobody around to see it.

Celebrating normal things like birthdays, well that’s a slightly different story.  Seeing as I live in Country Town and the rest of my family is a fairly long distance away (just a mere 4,030km or 2,500 miles away….a 3&1/2 day drive, or minimum 2 plane flights that is near to impossible to schedule in one day and 100km drive to the airport).  So when my birthday manages to fall in the holidays I decide to do a decent celebration…well I have the last two times (it’s happened three times so far in my life).

I moved away from all my family in January 1999, the closest I’ve lived to any of them since then is 800km/500 miles.  So the last 15 birthday I haven’t been with any of my family members.

My 30th it fell the last day of the school holidays and at the time I lived in a very, very, very, very remote version of Country Town, actually I don’t think you could even call it Country Town, maybe Country Town’s long lost second cousin, with the nearest town being 800km/500 miles in one direction down a dirt road or 350km/217 miles the other direction down a dirt road.  So I had my birthday at home with my neighbours.

My 35th fell in the middle of the holidays in 2011.  So I went from Country Town to New York and had a week there to celebrate.  I spent the day of my birthday going up the Empire State building, eating pizza and watching Top Gun at the cinema (so daggy, but so, so worth it).  The day before (which technically with time differences the day of my birthday in Australia) I met Rihanna…so I have to say it was a pretty impressive birthday.

My 37th fell this year in the holidays.  So I went from Country Town to Fiji for a week, to a small, quiet hotel right on the beach and ended up having a number of cocktails on my birthday and I didn’t care that I got caught in a huge downpour of rain whilst walking fown the road.  I was enjoying myself.

So they’ve been pretty full on, but for un-expected, improbable great news it’s normally just a happy dance on my own, phone call to my family, text to my best friends and a celebration drink with my best friend in Country Town.

Rather simple really for a country girl.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Daily Prompt: Celebrate Good Times | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  2. Trackback: You have won the Booker Prize! | alienorajt
  3. Trackback: Pepperoni Pizza Bites And Eggs In Purgatory | Anchors Aweigh
  4. Trackback: Daily Prompt: Celebrate Good Times | My Atheist Blog
  5. Trackback: A Simple Celebration | Sogna Grandezza
  6. Trackback: A Tanka on Celebration, or Losing it Over Success | The Arkside of Thought
  7. Trackback: Are the details of a celebration really post-worthy? | Rob's Surf Report

Leave a Reply

According To Abby

Abby Gilmore

Untidy Heidi

Naturally untidy, just trying to keep it all together!

allysonkathleen

Feeling and looking your absolute best!

CoCoHunni

My journey to become a happier, healthier me

Adventures In Onederland

"I can't go back to yesterday because I was a different person then"

Biblio Gets Fit

I love books and PF

Points to Skinny

Helping you meal plan to reach your weight goal

Miss Chardy

Laughter in the Outback

WHATTHETEACHERWEARS

'Who says you can't be fabulous between 9 & 5'

Tales of an Almost Teacher

Student Teacher Today: Superhero Tomorrow

This Mid 30s Life

It's often silly, sometimes fun and occasionally a bit boring if I'm honest.

Sweets.Eats.Treats

yummy desserts. easy meals. lazy crafternoons.

Through the THICK of it

Working towards health and happiness :)

The Life of an Amateur Country Girl

City girl adjusting to the country life.

An Education in Domestication

Two Educators Learning about Life

Journey to After

Never again will I be a "before"!

