“Miss I caught you a barra!”

“Miss I caught you a barra!” said one of the cherubs when they got off the bus this morning.

Um, okay, but I didn’t see a barra anywhere and the same cherub said the same line five weeks ago.

Now just for anyone who might not know what a barra is…it’s a fish, barramundi and they’re very well known around Country Town and they taste really good!

Let’s go back five weeks.  The cherub said “Miss I caught you a barra, you have to come home and get it.”  So the day ends and I walk home with the cherub and her sister and then off we drive the 10km to where they live.  Out comes their mum who says that they had been fishing the day before and caught six catfish and one barra.  As soon as the cherub caught the barra (mind you the cherub is the whole of six years old) did she say she was giving it to me.  There’s been a long standing line where anytime a cherub has said that they’ve caught a barra I’ve said “Where’s mine?”  But them the mum says she thought the cherubs took the barra to school for me, until she got home at lunch time and realised that nana had cooked it, but she promised they would catch me another one.

Fast foward to today.  Cherub had caught me a barra and made her brother carry it.  So I put in the freezer for the day so it wouldn’t make the staff fridge smell like fish.  Then came home at the end of the day, found out thankfully it had been gutted, but it was still in tact otherwise, eyes and all.  So I managed to cut the tail off so I could fit it on an oven tray and roasted it and oh my goodness it was so delicious and there will be plenty left for seconds, thirds, the freezer.

Leave a Reply

According To Abby

Abby Gilmore

Untidy Heidi

Naturally untidy, just trying to keep it all together!

allysonkathleen

Feeling and looking your absolute best!

CoCoHunni

My journey to become a happier, healthier me

Adventures In Onederland

"I can't go back to yesterday because I was a different person then"

Biblio Gets Fit

I love books and PF

Points to Skinny

Helping you meal plan to reach your weight goal

Miss Chardy

Laughter in the Outback

WHATTHETEACHERWEARS

'Who says you can't be fabulous between 9 & 5'

Tales of an Almost Teacher

Student Teacher Today: Superhero Tomorrow

This Mid 30s Life

It's often silly, sometimes fun and occasionally a bit boring if I'm honest.

Sweets.Eats.Treats

yummy desserts. easy meals. lazy crafternoons.

Through the THICK of it

Working towards health and happiness :)

The Life of an Amateur Country Girl

City girl adjusting to the country life.

An Education in Domestication

Two Educators Learning about Life

Journey to After

Never again will I be a "before"!

