Daily Prompt: Sorry, I’m busy

So this is my first attempt at a daily prompt.

It’s an interesting one for me to start with and one that is quite easy to respond to.

If you ask at work I’m the person who always says yes, I’m slowly changing that as I’m sick to death of being the one who gets lumped with everything and the one who has everything changed without a say in the matter (you can only do that for so long).

However there are times at home when I choose to ignore a text message on my phone, or a message on the home phone, or a facebook message because I know that instead of it being a nice, pleasant conversation between two friends that it will turn into a request of something from me and I figure it is easier to say I hadn’t seen the message than to say no…there’s also a lot less guilt involved.  I don’t mind giving, but there’s a limit on how much a person can give, give, give without receiving and I’m not talking about receiving physical items, I’m more talking about receiving some gratitude and thanks.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: The “Sorry…I’m Busy” Excuse | The Political and Social Chaos Blog
  2. Trackback: Daily Prompt: Sorry I’m Busy | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  3. Trackback: Until when I’ll say ‘Sorry, I’m busy’? | 3rdculturechildren
  4. ramblingsofahomeschoolmomma
    Sep 16, 2013 @ 00:20:07

    I also believe that when we are busy it needs to be busy work that shows your talents and gifts God created us for. Not just to fill a hole for somebody needing a favor.
    I have also had to work on the word NO. At first I hated the thought if someone being mad at me and then I thought who an I trying to please? Man or God?

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Sorry, I’m Busy: This is What I’ve Been Doing | Khana's Web
  6. Trackback: Daily Prompt: Sorry, I’m Busy | My Atheist Blog
  7. Trackback: I’m Sorry I Was Busy | The Silver Leaf Journal
  8. Trackback: Setting boundaries | Natasha's Memory Garden

Leave a Reply

Oxford Australia blog

For the love of learning

According To Abby

Abby Gilmore

Untidy Heidi

Naturally untidy, just trying to keep it all together!

allysonkathleen

Feeling and looking your absolute best!

CoCoHunni

My journey to become a happier, healthier me

Adventures In Onederland

"I can't go back to yesterday because I was a different person then"

Biblio Gets Fit

I love books and PF

Points to Skinny

Helping you meal plan to reach your weight goal

Miss Chardy

Laughter in the Outback

WHATTHETEACHERWEARS

'Who says you can't be fabulous between 9 & 5'

Tales of an Almost Teacher

Student Teacher Today: Superhero Tomorrow

This Mid 30s Life

It's often silly, sometimes fun and occasionally a bit boring if I'm honest.

Sweets.Eats.Treats

yummy desserts. easy meals. lazy crafternoons.

Through the THICK of it

Working towards health and happiness :)

The Life of an Amateur Country Girl

City girl adjusting to the country life.

An Education in Domestication

Two Educators Learning about Life

