Cookbooks…Darren Purchese – Sweet Studio

I have decided that seeing as my last post about a cookbook was the most favourited post so far that I should do another (it’s not like I’ve got a shortage of cookbooks to choose from!) so I’ve chosen Sweet Studio – The art of divine desserts by Darren Purchese, which I got for Christmas last year and then drooled over while reading it for the first time.  It’s available from Burch and Purchese Sweet Studio and I can’t wait to actually get to that store one day (seeing as it was closed while I was in Melbourne over Christmas/New Year).

It is completely drool worthy when you consider that the sweet creations have a double page photo spread…you can’t really call them recipes in this section as each creation has a number of components and each of them are listed and not the ingredients needed (for them you need to go to the recipe for the component.  Then there is the method of how to put the sweet creation together.

As I said…

9781742663371-3

Then there’s the drooling that happens whilst reading how to make the sweet creation.

For example the one shown above…Chocolate 60%, mandarin and salted caramel has 8 components and 14 steps in the construction method (that’s not including the number of steps required to make each component…but these are phenomenal creations we are talking about).

The components in the above sweet creation are:

  • 15cm (6 inch) disc chocolate aerated shortbread
  • 80g (2&3/4 oz) orange and vanilla marmalade
  • 15cm (6 inch) disc burnt mandarin cream, frozen
  • 100g (3&1/2 oz) salted caramel spread, at room temperature
  • 400g (15&1/2 oz) chocolate mousse 60%
  • 180g (6&1/4 oz) shiny chocolate glaze
  • 1 dark chocolate mandarin hemisphere
  • freeze-dried mandarin segments, or fresh mandarin segments if preferred

Now given that I live in Country Town and have the world’s smallest kitchen, with the least amount of bench space known to mankind I don’t think I’ll be making any of the recipes in this book any time soon, but it doesn’t stop me from drooling over them and reading them just as I would a great novel.

Leave a Reply

According To Abby

Abby Gilmore

Untidy Heidi

Naturally untidy, just trying to keep it all together!

allysonkathleen

Feeling and looking your absolute best!

CoCoHunni

My journey to become a happier, healthier me

Adventures In Onederland

"I can't go back to yesterday because I was a different person then"

Biblio Gets Fit

I love books and PF

Points to Skinny

Helping you meal plan to reach your weight goal

Miss Chardy

Laughter in the Outback

WHATTHETEACHERWEARS

'Who says you can't be fabulous between 9 & 5'

Tales of an Almost Teacher

Student Teacher Today: Superhero Tomorrow

This Mid 30s Life

It's often silly, sometimes fun and occasionally a bit boring if I'm honest.

Sweets.Eats.Treats

yummy desserts. easy meals. lazy crafternoons.

Through the THICK of it

Working towards health and happiness :)

The Life of an Amateur Country Girl

City girl adjusting to the country life.

An Education in Domestication

Two Educators Learning about Life

Journey to After

Never again will I be a "before"!

