Rugby player of the week…Beau Robinson

Well given that I’m slightly mad about sport, I’ve decided to do a rugby union player of the week, as well as football player of the week and there’s a good chance there will be a rugby league and cricket player of the week….we’ll see what happens!

So for my first rugby player of the week I’m going for the obvious…well the obvious for me.

I could have gone for Quade Cooper (don’t worry, he’ll get a go soon), I could have gone for Digby Ioane (another who will get a go soon), I could have gone the entire Queensland Reds team and a number of players from other teams as well as a few overseas players.

But given that I support the Queensland Reds I am starting with one of my two favourite Reds players.  I’ve supported the Reds for a few years now, but have supported the Wallabies for a lot longer, so when it came down to my decision on which Super Rugby team to support I based my decision on the team that had the players who were most interesting to me on Twitter, I needed something to base it on as I liked Wallabies players from all of the Super Rugby teams.  See Twitter is able to help make life’s important decisions and at 20,143 tweets I’ve mastered the art of spinning rubbish on Twitter.

Anyway I digress, back to the topic of the post….like I said I have two favourite Reds players, and they’re not the most obvious players for people to pick as their favourites, actually, it’s technically only one as the other one is going to play with another team next year.

So this week’s choice for rugby player of the week is…………………Beau Robinson!

Beau Robinson v NSW Waratahs

me & Beau Robinson

me & Beau Robinson

The things you do to meet a person!

The things you do to meet a person!

Oh look....Beau liked when I had the pic of me and him as my profile pic!

Oh look….Beau liked when I had the pic of me and him as my profile pic!
Got to laugh when the two calendar boys like your Instagram photo!

Got to laugh when the two calendar boys like your Instagram photo!

Birthday message

Birthday message to me!

Birthday message to Beau!

Birthday message to Beau!

Anxious moments trying to win the jersey!

Anxious moments trying to win the jersey!

Beau Robinson's Indigenous game jersey...mine all mine!!!

Beau Robinson’s Indigenous game jersey…mine all mine!!!

Now like I said Beau’s one of my two favourite Reds players.  I’ve managed to meet him twice and I’ve managed to watch him play in person twice.  Like I’ve also said Country Town is a long way from anywhere, especially any professional sport.  I went to Brisbane in July 2012 for a week’s holiday and it just happened to coincide with the Reds playing and I went from one end of Suncorp to the other to get a photo with Beau and him to sign my Reds’ training top.  The second time was the start of May this year, when I went to Fiji for holidays and my birthday and went back to Country Town via Perth for a few days, which strangely enough coincided with the Reds playing the Western Force, strange about that, wouldn’t have gone to Perth if they weren’t playing there.  I didn’t get to meet any of the players after the game, but the next morning I woke up early, so headed to the airport early (as you do) and wouldn’t you believe it the Reds players were at the airport.  Nothing like spying a team of rugby players at 6:30 on a Sunday morning to wake you up.  I didn’t get a new photo with Beau, but I got him to sign the photo I had in 2012 and nearly wet my pants when he said “Hi, how are you Shirl?” yes it’s the small things that make a girl happy!!!

So that’s this week’s rugby player of the week!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: My last supper | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Leave a Reply

Oxford Australia blog

For the love of learning

According To Abby

Abby Gilmore

Untidy Heidi

Naturally untidy, just trying to keep it all together!

allysonkathleen

Feeling and looking your absolute best!

CoCoHunni

My journey to become a happier, healthier me

Adventures In Onederland

"I can't go back to yesterday because I was a different person then"

Biblio Gets Fit

I love books and PF

Points to Skinny

Helping you meal plan to reach your weight goal

Miss Chardy

Laughter in the Outback

WHATTHETEACHERWEARS

'Who says you can't be fabulous between 9 & 5'

Tales of an Almost Teacher

Student Teacher Today: Superhero Tomorrow

This Mid 30s Life

It's often silly, sometimes fun and occasionally a bit boring if I'm honest.

Sweets.Eats.Treats

yummy desserts. easy meals. lazy crafternoons.

Through the THICK of it

Working towards health and happiness :)

The Life of an Amateur Country Girl

City girl adjusting to the country life.

An Education in Domestication

Two Educators Learning about Life

